We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value delicious Greek fare in the heart of Sydney CBD”

Athenian Greek Restaurant
Ranked #2,470 of 5,853 Restaurants in Sydney
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value delicious Greek fare in the heart of Sydney CBD”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Good value delicious Greek fare in the heart of Sydney CBD

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tkhan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    29
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
163 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Quality greek experience in the CBD.”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Quality Greek food. Attentive service. Competitive food & alochol prices for Sydney CBD.
It is Greek so only go if you like Greek food. Selection of Greek vegetables with or without meats/mince. Building is an ex CBA bank branch so huge ceilings + pylons. Large Greek pictures. Vault is downstairs adjacent toilets.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janellesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Large servings, so don't over order”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Went for dinner with my wife on a Saturday night, arriving early at 5.45pm. Not too many diners at that time but the large high-ceiling room soon started to fill. Check their website to see photos. George, our waiter was very friendly and helpful. When we were choosing from the Meze list he advised us to have half & half servings of taramasolata and tzatziki as we would be overfaced. He was correct. We also had a serve of dolmades, 6 in total. We both found the filling a little on the sweet side, probably due to the inclusion of raisins in the rice filling. A squeeze of lemom juice helped to temper the sweetness
We also tried the oysters, intrigued by the "Greek style" selection, which had a covering of black olive and feta cheese tapenade, grilled. A tad salty, but this blended well with a glass of the house red, an Australian Cabernet Merlot blend, very drinkable and good value at $7 per glass.
I had roast lamb for mains with an accompanying aubergine (eggplant) side dish, cooked Imam Bayildi style (more Turkish than Greek), baked with a tomato and red pepper sauce. My wife had an entree size serve of calamari, not chewy in the least as sometimes happens.
We both struggled to finish the meal and would advise Meze OR oysters, not both, as an entree, if considering a main course to follow. Servings are large.
Excellent service from George the waiter and Nikos, the owner, came to say hello. Very friendly service, great food and will definitely gao back to eat there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oztravellers128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“This Big Room is Too Noisy”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I preferred the genuine Greek entrees such as Greek salad, dlomades and taramasala to the hot dishes which I found floated in too much fat.

Globules of diners at large tables made this restaurant too big and noisy for me to want to return.

The value of the food is high as the servings are large.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank hotroxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Celebrating my husband's special birthday, our group of 20 arrived and was warmly greeted.and led to two tables of 10 each, beautifully set up, as requested, in the quietest part of the restaurant. Our drinks order was taken immediately, and Nicholas helped us decide on the menu (16 chose Banquet Dinners, and 4 a la carte). Briefly stated, it was a pleasure from start to finish. The wine, soft drinks and iced water were delivered within minutes, and the banquet items just did not stop coming. Each generous plate was nicer than the other, and it would have been impossible to fault the variety and taste. The four taking individual dinners had also no end of praise for their meals.

Everybody said how they couldn't wait to return to the Athenian Greek Restaurant. May it go from strength to strength. Thank you.

Ella Grojnowski

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Athenian Greek Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Athenian Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing