We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
James O

Highly recommend

Review of 57 Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2024
Just an excellent Hotel, helpful and friendly staff abs great price for single travelling business person. Rooms were clean and maintained, subtle things like free coffee, tea and light snacks downstairs set it apart from others. My second stay and I’ll go again.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Apr 2024
Hi James,

Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us again!

We're thrilled to hear that you had another excellent experience at our hotel and that our helpful and friendly staff, along with the great price, met your expectations.

Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay and beyond!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$254
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$253
  • Priceline
    AU$231
  • Official Site
    AU$254
2.1 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$210
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
  • Trip.com
    AU$210
  • Hotels.com
    AU$210
1.0 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$189
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$199
  • Vio.com
    AU$155
  • Hotels.com
    AU$192
0.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$180
  • Hotel Website
1.3 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$174
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$125
  • Vio.com
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
Aster Rooftop Bar
AU$369
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$387
  • Expedia.com
    AU$387
  • Hotels.com
    AU$369
2.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$396
No prepayment needed
  • StayForLong
    AU$459
  • Expedia.com
    AU$395
  • FourSeasons.com
    AU$396
2.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel Views
AU$340
  • Expedia.com
    AU$339
  • Agoda.com
    AU$328
  • travelup.com
    AU$335
2.6 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$300
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$299
  • Vio.com
    AU$300
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$299
1.8 km from 57 Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Tower Suite Bedroom
AU$804
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Trip.com
    AU$699
  • Official Hotel Site
    AU$609
  • StayForLong
2.6 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (2,831)
Filter reviews
2,832 results
Traveller rating
1,303
1,045
294
118
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,303
1,045
294
118
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station surry hills disco lift coffee and pastries disco lights dancing queen great location complimentary breakfast king room short stay one night stay great place to stay few minutes walk enjoyed my stay would stay again comfy bed business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 2,832 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2024

Stayed 6 nights. Nice hotel. Walking distance to many interesting tourist spots. Also close to Central Train/Metro/Bus Station if not interested in walking.

Lovely complimentary coffee / tea, snacks, fruit. All of the reception staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately, the same could not be said for the grumpy and extremely rude night porter. He obviously thinks he owns the hotel and is manager off all the other staff.

Twin room was a weird layout. TV could not be seen from either bed. One bed had no bedside lamp. As we were out sight seeing most of the time it didn't bother us but I can imagine some guests would not be very happy with the layout. Also, the bed was very short. Compact room I guess but shower was excellent.

All in all an enjoyable stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curious294743
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Hi there,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.


We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel nice and conveniently located near various tourist spots and transportation hubs.

It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the complimentary coffee, tea, snacks, and fruit, and that our reception staff were welcoming, friendly, and helpful throughout your stay.

However, we apologize for the negative experience with our overnight staff. Rest assured, your feedback has been addressed internally and some additional training has been organized.

We appreciate your comments regarding the layout of the twin room and apologize for any inconvenience caused. Your feedback regarding the TV visibility, bedside lamp, and bed length will be taken into consideration for future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the future.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024

The room was one of the smallest I ever had, but the bed was fine and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was OK and the coffee was exellent.
I missed a small bedlamp next to the bed, now I had to find the bed in the dark.
Luckily, the room was small…

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Hi huugl2024,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We're glad to hear that despite the size of the room, you found the bed comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful. We appreciate your compliments on our complimentary morning bites and excellent coffee.

Your comment about the lack of a bed lamp next to the bed is duly noted, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even better stay next time!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

I have stayed here twice so far. Great location to public transport and restaurants. Staff here are always friendly and helpful. Stayed in King Room with plenty of space.
Only negative this time was workman outside premises doing some night work but venue cannot be held responsible for this.
Coffee available 24 hours a life saver. Thankyou

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Hi Trevor,

Thank you so much for your continued support and for choosing to stay with us again! We're delighted to hear that you've had positive experiences both times.

It's wonderful to know that you find our location convenient and our staff friendly and helpful. We understand that external factors such as nighttime road work can be disruptive, and we appreciate your understanding in this matter.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our King Room and found the 24-hour coffee availability helpful.

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024 via mobile

The Hotel is in a great location. Super handy to transport and the Brett Whitely gallery. Room clean and comfy. Helpful friendly staff. Yummy treats to go with great coffee at breakfast. Option for the shuttle service to the airport a huge bonus

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Paradise219405
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Hi Paradise219405,

Thank you for your lovely review!

We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us and that our hotel's location, cleanliness, and comfort met your expectations.

It's fantastic to know that you found our staff helpful and friendly, and that you enjoyed the yummy treats with our great coffee at breakfast. We're also glad that you appreciated the option for our shuttle service to the airport – we aim to make our guests' travels as convenient as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2024

Overall, my stay at this hotel was quite enjoyable, with several notable highlights. Firstly, the location was superb, offering convenient access to various attractions, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating throughout my stay.

One unique feature that stood out to me was the disco light and music in the elevator, adding a fun touch to the overall ambiance of the hotel.

Although breakfast wasn't provided, the gesture of offering finger foods was a thoughtful touch and appreciated. However, there were a few drawbacks, primarily concerning the washroom facilities.

The open concept of the washroom, while modern and stylish, felt a bit too exposed for my liking. The curtain provided didn't fully close, compromising privacy. Additionally, having only a raindrop shower instead of a traditional shower head was somewhat inconvenient.

Despite these minor issues, my overall experience was positive, thanks to the hotel's great location, friendly staff, and enjoyable ambiance.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Weng Fatt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Hi wengfattl,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us!

We're delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that our hotel's location, friendly staff, and ambiance made a positive impression on you.

It's wonderful to know that you appreciated the unique touch of the disco lights and music in the elevator, adding to the fun atmosphere of your stay. We're also glad that you found the gesture of offering complimentary morning bites thoughtful, even though breakfast wasn't provided.

We appreciate your constructive criticism regarding the washroom facilities. Rest assured, your comments will be taken into consideration as we strive to enhance our guests' experiences.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews