We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Huug L

A fine stay!

Review of 57 Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Mar 2024
The room was one of the smallest I ever had, but the bed was fine and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was OK and the coffee was exellent.
I missed a small bedlamp next to the bed, now I had to find the bed in the dark.
Luckily, the room was small…
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 9 Apr 2024
Hi huugl2024,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We're glad to hear that despite the size of the room, you found the bed comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful. We appreciate your compliments on our complimentary morning bites and excellent coffee.

Your comment about the lack of a bed lamp next to the bed is duly noted, and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even better stay next time!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$259
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$259
  • KLOOK
    AU$248
  • Official Site
    AU$264
2.1 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$210
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
  • Vio.com
    AU$210
  • Priceline
    AU$210
1.0 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$180
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    AU$180
  • Expedia.com
    AU$167
  • Agoda.com
    AU$180
1.3 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$189
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$201
  • Agoda.com
    AU$177
  • Vio.com
0.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$127
  • Vio.com
    AU$125
  • Agoda.com
    AU$114
  • Expedia.com
    AU$127
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Aster Rooftop Bar
AU$355
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$355
  • Algotels
    AU$349
  • Expedia.com
    AU$355
2.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$293
  • Expedia.com
    AU$315
  • Priceline
    AU$287
  • Hotels.com
    AU$315
1.8 km from 57 Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
AU$174
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
    AU$165
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Priceline
    AU$135
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
AU$360
No prepayment needed
  • FourSeasons.com
    AU$360
  • Vio.com
    AU$360
  • Expedia.com
    AU$360
2.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel Views
AU$310
  • travelup.com
    AU$313
  • Expedia.com
    AU$310
  • Vio.com
    AU$310
2.6 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (2,822)
Filter reviews
2,822 results
Traveller rating
1,299
1,041
292
118
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,299
1,041
292
118
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station surry hills disco lift coffee and pastries disco lights dancing queen great location complimentary breakfast king room short stay one night stay great place to stay few minutes walk enjoyed my stay would stay again comfy bed business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 2,822 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2024

I have stayed here twice so far. Great location to public transport and restaurants. Staff here are always friendly and helpful. Stayed in King Room with plenty of space.
Only negative this time was workman outside premises doing some night work but venue cannot be held responsible for this.
Coffee available 24 hours a life saver. Thankyou

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Hi Trevor,

Thank you so much for your continued support and for choosing to stay with us again! We're delighted to hear that you've had positive experiences both times.

It's wonderful to know that you find our location convenient and our staff friendly and helpful. We understand that external factors such as nighttime road work can be disruptive, and we appreciate your understanding in this matter.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed the spaciousness of our King Room and found the 24-hour coffee availability helpful.

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024 via mobile

The Hotel is in a great location. Super handy to transport and the Brett Whitely gallery. Room clean and comfy. Helpful friendly staff. Yummy treats to go with great coffee at breakfast. Option for the shuttle service to the airport a huge bonus

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Paradise219405
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Hi Paradise219405,

Thank you for your lovely review!

We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us and that our hotel's location, cleanliness, and comfort met your expectations.

It's fantastic to know that you found our staff helpful and friendly, and that you enjoyed the yummy treats with our great coffee at breakfast. We're also glad that you appreciated the option for our shuttle service to the airport – we aim to make our guests' travels as convenient as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2024

Overall, my stay at this hotel was quite enjoyable, with several notable highlights. Firstly, the location was superb, offering convenient access to various attractions, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating throughout my stay.

One unique feature that stood out to me was the disco light and music in the elevator, adding a fun touch to the overall ambiance of the hotel.

Although breakfast wasn't provided, the gesture of offering finger foods was a thoughtful touch and appreciated. However, there were a few drawbacks, primarily concerning the washroom facilities.

The open concept of the washroom, while modern and stylish, felt a bit too exposed for my liking. The curtain provided didn't fully close, compromising privacy. Additionally, having only a raindrop shower instead of a traditional shower head was somewhat inconvenient.

Despite these minor issues, my overall experience was positive, thanks to the hotel's great location, friendly staff, and enjoyable ambiance.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Weng Fatt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Hi wengfattl,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback with us!

We're delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that our hotel's location, friendly staff, and ambiance made a positive impression on you.

It's wonderful to know that you appreciated the unique touch of the disco lights and music in the elevator, adding to the fun atmosphere of your stay. We're also glad that you found the gesture of offering complimentary morning bites thoughtful, even though breakfast wasn't provided.

We appreciate your constructive criticism regarding the washroom facilities. Rest assured, your comments will be taken into consideration as we strive to enhance our guests' experiences.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another great stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Place was very modern and clean. Great location. 24hr desk service. Coffee and tea station was also 24hrs. Room is regularly cleaned by maid service. Reasonably priced for its location. Lots of bars and restaurants walking distance. Close to the city.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Hi Sarah,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel to be modern, clean, and conveniently located. Providing 24-hour desk service and coffee/tea stations is part of our commitment to ensuring a comfortable experience for our guests.

We're delighted that you appreciated our housekeeping service and found our pricing reasonable for the fantastic location. It's great to know that you were able to explore Surry Hills with its array of bars, restaurants, and city attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the area!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2024

Annoyed that hotel knew there was planned nightly roadworks outside building during stay but no mention of this. Jack hammer to 4am in the morning definitely not somewhere I would have booked. Best alert guests next time. Will not be back again unfortunately. Rooms ok, shower wets all bathroom floor a lot. Complimentary breakfast is plastic packaged food and usually hardly any left most days. Overall disappointing in the end.

Room tip: Good location
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Hi there!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We're truly sorry to hear that your experience fell short of expectations due to the roadworks outside the building. We understand the importance of providing guests with all relevant information, and we apologize for any inconvenience this oversight may have caused.

We appreciate your comments regarding the room condition and breakfast offerings. Your feedback will be shared with our team as we continually strive to improve our services and amenities.

We sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and exceed your expectations in the future.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews