We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Freedom37057068295

Great location, great staff, false info in bed size, a few other issues and hotel quality

Review of 57 Hotel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Feb 2024
The hotel is falsely advertising King (size) beds as the measurements are nowhere near Aus standard. Bathroom shower head was very poor condition, phone didn’t work, a shower curtain-not really up to 4 star standard I felt. Staff v’good and always tried to assist.

But some endemic issues with the facility that the staff really couldn’t be held accountable for, My aircon didn’t work properly, phone not at all, TV kept loosing digital signal … not a great experience or one I’d repeat again.

Saving grace was location and staff… but there was a lot I wasn’t happy about.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Don’t book here if looking for a standard Australia size King bed
Trip type: Travelled solo
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 27 Feb 2024
Hi Freedom37057068295,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. It is disappointing to hear that the bed size didn't meet your expectations and that you encountered issues with the bathroom shower head, phone, and TV signal. Please accept our most sincere apologies and rest assured your comments have been passed on to our maintenance team for immediate resolution.

on the positive side, we're glad to hear that you found our staff to be very good and helpful, and we appreciate your recognition of their efforts. We're also grateful for your acknowledgment of our hotel's great location, and we hope that despite the issues you encountered, you were still able to enjoy some aspects of your stay.

If you decide to give us another chance in the future, we would welcome the opportunity to make it right and provide you with a more enjoyable stay.

Once again, thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have the chance to exceed your expectations in the future.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$315
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$315
  • Hotels.com
    AU$315
  • Expedia.com
    AU$315
1.0 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$216
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
  • Hotels.com
    AU$202
  • Priceline
    AU$221
1.3 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$319
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$290
  • KLOOK
    AU$271
  • Official Site
    AU$344
2.1 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$211
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$181
  • Priceline
    AU$234
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Aster Rooftop Bar
InterContinental
AU$437
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$437
  • Hotels.com
    AU$437
  • Priceline
    AU$437
2.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$405
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$405
  • Expedia.com
    AU$404
  • Priceline
    AU$405
1.8 km from 57 Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Booking.com
AU$193
  • Priceline
    AU$189
  • Agoda.com
    AU$165
  • Expedia.com
    AU$227
1.8 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$515
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • FourSeasons.com
  • Algotels
    AU$417
  • Expedia.com
    AU$514
2.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel Views
Booking.com
AU$500
  • travelup.com
    AU$482
  • Vio.com
    AU$476
  • Hotels.com
    AU$500
2.6 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    AU$211
  • Agoda.com
    AU$201
  • Algotels
    AU$301
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (2,809)
Filter reviews
2,809 results
Traveller rating
1,290
1,037
292
118
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,290
1,037
292
118
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station surry hills disco lift coffee and pastries disco lights dancing queen great location complimentary breakfast king room short stay one night stay great place to stay few minutes walk enjoyed my stay would stay again comfy bed business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 2,809 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great coffee machines and breakfast choices, comfortable, clean rooms. Stay here regularly for work, it’s one of my favourite places to stay. Would definitely recommend it, close to Central and the light rail to Circular Quay.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tcalder275
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Hi there,


Thank you for your fantastic review!

We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay and that you find our hotel, staff, and amenities to your liking. It's wonderful to know that you appreciate our coffee machine and morning options, as well as our comfortable and clean rooms. We're honored to be one of your favorite places to stay during your work trips. Your recommendation means a lot to us!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2024

Really loved the decor and set up. Perfect for a one night stop! Beds were comfortable. Room very clean and temperature comfortable. Bathroom in our unit #101 was unique against the street side. Front staff very friendly and quick.
Nice and close to train and a 30 min walk to Circular Quay

Room tip: Get downstairs early for breakfast.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Hi Karen,


Thank you so much for your lovely review!

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the decor and setup of our property, and that your one-night stay was comfortable. Our team takes pride in being friendly and efficient, so we're delighted that you had a positive interaction with our front staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2024

This conveniently located and tidy hotel is perfect for quick trips to the city. The staff are so lovely and the condiments bar was a great bonus. A very easy walk to central station and the rooms are very tidy and fresh. Will stay again. Thanks again.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hi there!

Thank you for your lovely review!

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our conveniently located hotel. It's wonderful to know that you found our staff to be lovely and that you appreciated the morning bites bar as a great bonus.

We're glad our tidy and fresh rooms met your expectations, and we're thrilled that you found our location near Central station convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2024

The Staff are extremely professional, friendly and helpful. Great location just a few minutes walk from Central station. Room and facilities are very clean. Reception lounge area is very comfortable and the complimentary coffee and brekky is fabulous. Definitely stay again.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sunny24671
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hi Sunny,

Thank you for your wonderful review!

We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience during your stay with us. Our staff takes great pride in providing professional, friendly, and helpful service, so we're delighted to hear that they made your stay enjoyable. It's great to know that you found our location near Central station convenient and that you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms and facilities.

We're glad you enjoyed the comfortable reception lounge area and the complimentary coffee and morning bites offerings.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another fantastic stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2024

Conveniently located near Central station with light rail, buses and trains to all parts of Sydney within close walking distance.
Rooms were very comfortable and hotel well maintained.
The complimentary snack type breakfast available in the hotel foyer each morning was a pleasant and much appreciated surprise.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Tomspoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hi Tomspoppy,


Thank you so much for your glowing review!

We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel's location near Central station to be convenient for exploring Sydney. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and found our hotel well-maintained.

We're thrilled that you appreciated the complimentary morning bites available in the hotel lobby each morning. We aim to provide pleasant surprises for our guests, and we're glad to hear that it was much appreciated.

Your feedback means the world to us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another exceptional stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews