We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dennis M
Palm Beach, Australia

Second to None

Review of 57 Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Feb 2024
Conveniently located near Central station with light rail, buses and trains to all parts of Sydney within close walking distance.
Rooms were very comfortable and hotel well maintained.
The complimentary snack type breakfast available in the hotel foyer each morning was a pleasant and much appreciated surprise.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 6 Feb 2024
Hi Tomspoppy,

Thank you so much for your glowing review!

We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel's location near Central station to be convenient for exploring Sydney. It's wonderful to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms and found our hotel well-maintained.

We're thrilled that you appreciated the complimentary morning bites available in the hotel lobby each morning. We aim to provide pleasant surprises for our guests, and we're glad to hear that it was much appreciated.

Your feedback means the world to us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another exceptional stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$195
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$193
  • Booking.com
2.1 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$211
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$210
1.0 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Aster Rooftop Bar
AU$340
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$340
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Hotel Views
AU$300
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    AU$300
2.6 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$400
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$401
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
2.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
    AU$167
  • Hotels.com
1.3 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
    AU$141
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
  • Priceline
    AU$296
  • Expedia.com
    AU$319
  • Vio.com
    AU$305
1.8 km from 57 Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Lobby
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    AU$127
  • Algotels
1.0 km from 57 Hotel
  • Priceline
    AU$130
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$167
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (2,815)
Filter reviews
2,815 results
Traveller rating
1,294
1,039
292
118
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,294
1,039
292
118
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station surry hills disco lift coffee and pastries disco lights dancing queen great location complimentary breakfast king room short stay one night stay great place to stay few minutes walk enjoyed my stay would stay again comfy bed business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 2,815 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2024

This was such a disappointing stay. I stayed here a while ago and thought it was wonderful. But this time, the space was tired, I was given a room with a tiny 40cmx40cm window facing a wall that was completely frosted. the bed was sunken in the middle and was on wheels that rolled around the room like a skateboard. The shower head was cracked and had holes in it combine that with zero pressure it was not the best of times.
The thing that got me the most was there is no kettles or tea or coffee facilities in the room. The facilities downstairs are great for breakfast but a little nighttime fix isn’t really fun, having to go back downstairs, and make sure you don’t forget something like I did and have to head back down again. Finally, the doors are paper thing. And although the walls are sound proof, the doors echo everything that comes from the hallway. I just felt so frustrated by this stay and for the price. It really ticked me off. So I decided to write about it.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Getaway44227994203
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hi there!

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, even though it's accompanied by a lower rating.

We're truly sorry to hear that your stay didn't meet your expectations.

It's disheartening to learn that our newly refurbished rooms didn't meet your expectations, and we apologize for any disappointment caused. At 57 Hotel, we offer a variety of room designs and layouts, and we regret if the one you were assigned didn't quite suit your preferences. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us directly on your next visit to Sydney, and we'll ensure to find the best fit for you.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the cracked shower head and the lack of water pressure. Your comments have been forwarded to our maintenance team for immediate attention, and we'll work diligently to rectify these issues.

While we don't have in-room tea and coffee making facilities, we do offer complimentary 24/7 barista-style coffee and a premium tea bar in the lobby. Additionally, we're more than happy to provide tea and coffee trays upon request. Just a quick call to our 24/7 team, and we would have swiftly delivered it to your room.

We're sorry to hear that you experienced some noise from the corridors. Your concerns have been noted, and we'll make sure to assign you the quietest rooms available during your next stay.

Once again, we apologize for falling short of your expectations, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a much-improved experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2024

Could have a small fridge in room. A small table with two 2 chairs, as need to get takeaway. Some glasses to drink out of.
We enjoyed the room very much otherwise,quiet. Staff very helpful and lovely to talk to. Will come back again when in Sydney.
From Margaret and Craig Bailey
Have a great year.😍

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank margbailey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hi Margaret and Craig!


Thank you so much for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us!

We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and found it to be quiet and comfortable.

Your suggestions regarding the addition of a small fridge, a table with chairs, and glasses for takeaway drinks are noted, and we'll look into ways to enhance our amenities for future guests.

We're pleased that our staff could assist you during your stay, and we can't wait to welcome you back when you're in Sydney again. Wishing you both a fantastic year ahead!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2024

Great location, clean and decent size room for solo travellers. Staff are welcoming, accomodating and helpful. Quick and easy checkin. Just wish the pillows are firmer and the exhaust fan in the bathroom can be turned off. Will be a bonus if toiletries are better and usable.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank wanderlust0ntheg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hi there!


Thank you for your valuable feedback!

We're delighted to hear that you found our hotel to be a great option for business travelers, with its convenient location, clean, and spacious rooms.

It's wonderful to know that our staff made you feel welcome and provided excellent service during your stay.

We appreciate your suggestions regarding the pillows, bathroom exhaust fan, and toiletries, and we'll certainly take them into consideration to improve our guests' experience.

Your satisfaction is important to us, and we hope to welcome you back for another comfortable stay in the future!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024

The staff are amazing. Haniel helped me, an old man, get the Uber eats app. Yahoo.
Bernadette helped me with directions and just made me feel so welcome. Julie was also great with directions. Every time I come back I always have a tray in my room after asking one time.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nolda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hi nbO1479IL,


We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience during your stay with us!

Our staff takes great pride in providing exceptional service, and it's wonderful to hear that Haniel, Bernadette, and Julie went above and beyond to assist you.

Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities, and we're glad to know that our efforts made a difference.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

Great and stylish hotel, fantastic location - breakfast with apples, croissants etc for free, great coffee the hole time. Friendly staff. Clean and cosy beds and quiet. We loved to stay here for 4 nights and would return for another stay. Top!

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Hi Marco,

Thank you for your glowing review!

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our great and stylish hotel. It's wonderful to know that you appreciated our fantastic location and the complimentary morning bites offerings, including fresh apples, croissants, and great coffee throughout your stay.

Our team strives to provide friendly service and maintain a clean, cozy, and quiet environment for our guests, so we're thrilled to hear that you found it to be just that.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another top-notch stay!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews