We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Leah C

It's the little things that count!

Review of 57 Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jan 2024
This was an interesting stay. The hotel is lovely, and the staff were more than pleasant. After flight delays, I arrived late and was looking forward to crashing in my room with a cuppa, wash my face, finishing off some work, and watching one of my shows on Netflix to wind down after a stressful day.
The first thing I looked for was a glass so I could take my vitamins and have water beside the bed through the night. No Glass! By this time, I was already in my pajamas and thought, I will put on the robe and go downstairs and get some. No Robe. Plan B.. I will make a cup of tea; surely there is a teabag and a teacup in the joint. NO tea or coffee, and no teacup. Luckily, I found an empty water bottle in my hand luggage and filled that. When I went to the bathroom to wash my face, there was NO face cloth, so I had to wet the end of a towel and use that. After brushing my teeth, there was, of course, NO cup to rinse. Turning on the TV and looking forward to streaming my show, I was met with more dismay when I was limited to the local channels and NO streaming. I was not in the mood for the shopping channels, so I had to watch my show on my phone. I would have killed for a coffee upon waking, but of course this was not possible. On check-in, the kind man at reception gave me a late checkout of 11 a.m., but I was out of my room by 10 a.m. as the only place I could make myself a drink was at reception.
Having brought this accommodation online at a special discounted rate, I still paid $160 for the night, so as a regular traveler for work, I would not call this budget accommodation.
I don't think it is a lot to ask to have a drinking vessel, tea and coffee, and a face cloth included in the room, and to be honest, I am still a little stunned at the fact that these things were not standard. The hotel was nice, the rooms were modern and clean, and the staff were friendly, but would I stay again? Probably not.
It may not seem like a lot, but it was very inconvenient, and when there are limitless options available, why lose a regular over a few things that are inexpensive and, in my opinion, STANDARD? It's the little things that count!
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: No cups, glassware, or cutlery in the room. No tea and coffee-making facilities in the room. No...
Trip type: Travelled on business
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 28 Jan 2024
Hi Leah,

Thank you for your detailed feedback.

Firstly, I am pleased to hear that you found our hotel lovely. It is especially heartwarming to read that our exceptional team took great care of you and even offered you a complimentary late check out. I am sorry that you were not able to make the most of it though. Also, I can see that you were complimentarily upgraded by 2 room types. I hope this upgrade added a touch of luxury to your stay.

I understand your disappointment with the room settings not meeting your expectations. While we don't provide in-room tea and coffee facilities, our complimentary 24/7 barista-style coffee station and premium tea selection in the lobby aim to cater to diverse preferences. A quick call to our 24/7 reception would have saved you the hassle of a pajama-clad journey for your caffeine fix.

I acknowledge your feedback regarding the absence of bathrobes and face cloths. Rest assured, we take such comments seriously and will explore opportunities for improvement.

I'm sorry you had to resort to watching your favorite Netflix show on your phone. While not all our rooms have smart TVs, we are actively upgrading them. Additionally, we offer Apple TV boxes and Chromecast devices upon request, again, a brief call to our 24/7 Guest Services could have made your evening a little bit better.

I apologize that our in-room amenities fell short of impressing you. On a positive note, I'm pleased you appreciated the privilege of staying in the heart of Sydney at an affordable rate of $160 a night.

Your feedback is invaluable, and we'll use it to enhance our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back for an even more enjoyable stay.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$260
  • Official Site
    AU$243
  • KLOOK
    AU$257
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$190
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$190
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
1.0 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    AU$180
  • Hotels.com
    AU$177
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
1.3 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$189
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$154
  • Expedia.com
    AU$176
0.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$122
Fully refundable
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$113
  • Trip.com
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Aster Rooftop Bar
AU$360
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$360
  • Algotels
    AU$351
  • Expedia.com
    AU$360
2.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$294
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$315
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
1.8 km from 57 Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
AU$360
  • Booking.com
    AU$360
  • Algotels
    AU$348
  • Vio.com
2.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotel Views
AU$365
  • Vio.com
    AU$327
  • travelup.com
    AU$369
  • Expedia.com
    AU$365
2.6 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Algotels
    AU$172
  • Agoda.com
    AU$129
  • StayForLong
    AU$183
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (2,822)
Filter reviews
2,823 results
Traveller rating
1,300
1,041
292
118
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,300
1,041
292
118
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station surry hills disco lift coffee and pastries disco lights dancing queen great location complimentary breakfast king room short stay one night stay great place to stay few minutes walk enjoyed my stay would stay again comfy bed business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 2,823 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2024

Friendly and helpful staff were the only decent part of this stay unfortunately. I've stayed here a number of times but I'm not sure I'll be back. The first floor hallway smelt like a drain had backed up. There were fruit/drain flies all through my room the room felt tired. Time for a bit of a revamp I think.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Hi Louise,

Thanks a bunch for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we truly appreciate your loyalty as a repeat guest. We're thrilled to hear that our staff made a positive impression with their friendliness and helpfulness.

However, we're genuinely sorry to learn about the issues you faced during your stay. Our sincere apologies for the unpleasant smell on the first floor and the unwelcome presence of fruit/drain flies in your room. Your feedback about the tired feel of the room is duly noted.

Rest assured, we take your comments seriously, and we'll be looking into ways to address these issues promptly. We understand the importance of a refreshed atmosphere, and we'll consider a revamp to enhance the overall experience.

We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with a significantly improved experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Max

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2024

A wonderful hotel with caring, helpful, accommodating staff. Nothing was ever a problem. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the bonus breakfast in the morning was a treat. I will be booking in again!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Hi there!

Thanks a million for your fantastic review!

We're thrilled you found our hotel wonderful, and our staff caring and accommodating. It's awesome to hear that everything from the clean room to the comfy bed hit the spot for you. And we're delighted you enjoyed our complimentary morning bites.

Can't wait to welcome you back for another great stay!

Warm regards,

Max

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2024

Friendly staff, especially female staff; Good location; Rooms are clean; Coffee machine and breakfast are very convenient.
Area to improve: Iron board needs to be cleaned; To be environment friendly such as Replace the disposable coffee cups with reusable cups, Food served without plastic wrappings.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Q7170GEjenniferj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Hi Jennifer,

Thanks a bunch for your awesome feedback!

We're thrilled you enjoyed our friendly staff, convenient location, and clean rooms.

Regarding your suggestions, we totally vibe with the environment-friendly spirit. However, since we offer grab & go coffee and morning bites in the lobby, most guests prefer the ease of takeaway cups and wrapped bites. It also helps keep things hygienic for everyone. We'll definitely look into improving the cleanliness of our iron boards, though.

Thanks again for your thoughts, and we can't wait to have you back!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2024

Nice and functional hotel room in a good location (close to public transport with a number of restaurants and a supermarket close by).
Very friendly staff.
Basic breakfast and coffee included
Well priced
Ideal place for a short city break or business trip.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joerg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Hi joerga2024,

Thanks for sharing your experience!

Excited to hear you found our hotel nice and functional, and our location convenient. It's great that you enjoyed the nearby amenities. Glad you found our morning bites and coffee offerings hit the spot, and that our pricing worked well for you.

Looking forward to having you back for your next city break or business trip!

Warm regards,

Max

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

Excellent welcoming staff. Very hot day arrival day. Thoughtful air conditioning already on when we went to our room. Excellent position lower Foveuax St Surry Hills location for airport and light rail connections. Excellent value for money with tariff inclusive very good breakfast and coffee arrays. Rooms smallish European style but spotless and well organized.

Room tip: We went there to stay because of its close proximity for next day airport train travel connections.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Seaside65531325376
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Hi there!

Thanks a bunch for the shoutout!

We're thrilled you enjoyed our friendly staff and the cool welcome on that hot day. Glad our location and connections worked out well for you. And hey, we're stoked you found value in our inclusive morning bites and coffee offerings. Our rooms may be on the cozy side, but we're happy you found them spotless and well-organized.

Can't wait to host you again!

Warm regards,

Max

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews