We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Louise M

Rundown

Review of 57 Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jan 2024
Friendly and helpful staff were the only decent part of this stay unfortunately. I've stayed here a number of times but I'm not sure I'll be back. The first floor hallway smelt like a drain had backed up. There were fruit/drain flies all through my room the room felt tired. Time for a bit of a revamp I think.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 24 Jan 2024
Hi Louise,

Thanks a bunch for taking the time to share your thoughts, and we truly appreciate your loyalty as a repeat guest. We're thrilled to hear that our staff made a positive impression with their friendliness and helpfulness.

However, we're genuinely sorry to learn about the issues you faced during your stay. Our sincere apologies for the unpleasant smell on the first floor and the unwelcome presence of fruit/drain flies in your room. Your feedback about the tired feel of the room is duly noted.

Rest assured, we take your comments seriously, and we'll be looking into ways to address these issues promptly. We understand the importance of a refreshed atmosphere, and we'll consider a revamp to enhance the overall experience.

We value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with a significantly improved experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Max

Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$210
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$210
  • Trip.com
    AU$210
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
1.0 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$249
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$227
  • Expedia.com
    AU$259
  • Hotels.com
    AU$249
2.1 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$177
  • Hotel Website
    AU$180
1.3 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$189
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$181
  • Vio.com
    AU$169
  • Expedia.com
    AU$199
0.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
AU$122
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$144
  • Agoda.com
    AU$112
  • Vio.com
    AU$137
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Aster Rooftop Bar
AU$360
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$360
  • Priceline
    AU$360
  • Expedia.com
    AU$358
2.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
AU$257
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$287
  • Expedia.com
    AU$315
  • Hotels.com
    AU$315
1.8 km from 57 Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
AU$162
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$178
  • Agoda.com
    AU$129
  • Vio.com
    AU$134
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
AU$360
No prepayment needed
  • FourSeasons.com
    AU$360
  • Priceline
    AU$360
  • Expedia.com
    AU$360
2.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$310
  • Priceline
    AU$310
  • Vio.com
    AU$303
  • Expedia.com
    AU$309
2.6 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (2,824)
Filter reviews
2,824 results
Traveller rating
1,300
1,041
293
118
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,300
1,041
293
118
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station surry hills disco lift coffee and pastries disco lights dancing queen great location complimentary breakfast king room short stay one night stay great place to stay few minutes walk enjoyed my stay would stay again comfy bed business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 2,824 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2024

A wonderful hotel with caring, helpful, accommodating staff. Nothing was ever a problem. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the bonus breakfast in the morning was a treat. I will be booking in again!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Hi there!

Thanks a million for your fantastic review!

We're thrilled you found our hotel wonderful, and our staff caring and accommodating. It's awesome to hear that everything from the clean room to the comfy bed hit the spot for you. And we're delighted you enjoyed our complimentary morning bites.

Can't wait to welcome you back for another great stay!

Warm regards,

Max

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2024

Friendly staff, especially female staff; Good location; Rooms are clean; Coffee machine and breakfast are very convenient.
Area to improve: Iron board needs to be cleaned; To be environment friendly such as Replace the disposable coffee cups with reusable cups, Food served without plastic wrappings.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Q7170GEjenniferj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Hi Jennifer,

Thanks a bunch for your awesome feedback!

We're thrilled you enjoyed our friendly staff, convenient location, and clean rooms.

Regarding your suggestions, we totally vibe with the environment-friendly spirit. However, since we offer grab & go coffee and morning bites in the lobby, most guests prefer the ease of takeaway cups and wrapped bites. It also helps keep things hygienic for everyone. We'll definitely look into improving the cleanliness of our iron boards, though.

Thanks again for your thoughts, and we can't wait to have you back!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2024

Nice and functional hotel room in a good location (close to public transport with a number of restaurants and a supermarket close by).
Very friendly staff.
Basic breakfast and coffee included
Well priced
Ideal place for a short city break or business trip.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joerg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Hi joerga2024,

Thanks for sharing your experience!

Excited to hear you found our hotel nice and functional, and our location convenient. It's great that you enjoyed the nearby amenities. Glad you found our morning bites and coffee offerings hit the spot, and that our pricing worked well for you.

Looking forward to having you back for your next city break or business trip!

Warm regards,

Max

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2024 via mobile

Excellent welcoming staff. Very hot day arrival day. Thoughtful air conditioning already on when we went to our room. Excellent position lower Foveuax St Surry Hills location for airport and light rail connections. Excellent value for money with tariff inclusive very good breakfast and coffee arrays. Rooms smallish European style but spotless and well organized.

Room tip: We went there to stay because of its close proximity for next day airport train travel connections.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Seaside65531325376
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Hi there!

Thanks a bunch for the shoutout!

We're thrilled you enjoyed our friendly staff and the cool welcome on that hot day. Glad our location and connections worked out well for you. And hey, we're stoked you found value in our inclusive morning bites and coffee offerings. Our rooms may be on the cozy side, but we're happy you found them spotless and well-organized.

Can't wait to host you again!

Warm regards,

Max

Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2024

Wonderful boutique hotel close to public transport. Budget price with a 5 star feel. Comftablefortable room and wonderful staff make this a lovely place to stay when visiting or having a holiday in Sydney.

Room tip: Close to central station and light rail. Easy walking to Oxford Street LGBTQ community
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christophor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2024

Hi Chris,

Thanks a bunch for your awesome review!

We're thrilled you enjoyed our boutique vibes and the 5-star feels of 57 Hotel. Delighted to hear you found the room comfy and our staff wonderful.

Can't wait to welcome you back next time you're in Sydney!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews