We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
AU$162
Vio.com
AU$130
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Agoda.com
AU$126
Fully refundable before Thu, 2 May
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Northern Wonderer
Greater Melbourne, Australia
If you like natural light, don't stay here
Review of 57 Hotel
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Nov 2023via mobile
I booked Hotel 57 based on location to Moore Park and Central Station. The photos looked fun and interesting and I quickly realised they're a gimmick. I was initially allocated a room with no window and requested a room move as I felt claustrophobic. The alternative was a room with a window in the bathroom with partial natural light. The lights were needed all the time in the room.. After being utterly confused about the room design I was equally as confused as to why there would be no kettle or coffee/tea making facilities in the room. Who wants to go in pjs to the communal coffee machine in the lobby. The 'pastries' for breakfast were defrosted croissants in plastic wrap. Housekeeping's idea of servicing a room was making the bed and changing towels, there was dust on all surfaces, glassware and cups not cleaned.

For a 'boutique' hotel, it was a joke. Quality toiletries and services are required for this title. Julie on reception was lovely, but should move on to a better employer. Will not stay again or recommend.
Date of stay: November 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$184
No prepayment needed
  • Hotel Website
    AU$184
  • Expedia.com
    AU$181
  • Hotels.com
    AU$184
1.3 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$265
  • Priceline
    AU$274
  • KLOOK
    AU$233
  • Hotels.com
    AU$274
2.1 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$156
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$167
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Expedia.com
    AU$154
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Booking.com
AU$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$230
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
    AU$230
1.8 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
InterContinental
AU$375
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$375
  • Algotels
    AU$313
  • Hotels.com
    AU$375
2.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$308
  • Hotels.com
    AU$325
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$289
  • Expedia.com
    AU$319
1.8 km from 57 Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Vio.com
AU$131
  • Expedia.com
    AU$174
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Algotels
    AU$201
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$165
  • Vio.com
    AU$134
  • Hotels.com
    AU$179
2.6 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
FourSeasons.com
AU$400
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    AU$400
  • Vio.com
    AU$395
  • Hotels.com
    AU$400
2.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$325
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    AU$304
  • travelup.com
    AU$347
2.6 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (2,802)
Filter reviews
2,802 results
Traveller rating
1,287
1,034
291
118
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,287
1,034
291
118
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station surry hills disco lift coffee and pastries disco lights dancing queen great location complimentary breakfast king room short stay one night stay great place to stay few minutes walk enjoyed my stay would stay again comfy bed business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 2,802 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2023

Bernadette at the front desk was amazing, as were everyone else who worked there. Very helpful and accommodating. Very clean, great location. Breakfast bar was easy and had fun options, they also have coffee and tea!

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank FarAway45376457450
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2023

Hey there!

Thanks a bunch for sharing your experience with us!

We're thrilled to hear that Bernadette and the team made your stay top-notch. So glad you found everything clean and enjoyed the convenient location.

We cannot wait to host you back soon!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2023 via mobile

Conveniently located, clean, comfortable hotel with helpful, welcoming reception team. We enjoyed our stay and found the location to be ideal being close to central station and the restaurants of Surry Hill. Slightly quirky room layout with shower- room nearest the window, and sliding door/ curtain for privacy.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Z3700QHandreww
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023


Hello Andrew,

Thanks a bunch for sharing the review!

We're thrilled to hear that you found our hotel comfortable, clean, and conveniently located. It's great to know that our reception team was helpful and welcoming, contributing to your enjoyable stay.

We appreciate your positive comments about the ideal location near Central Station and the restaurants of Surry Hills.

We can't wait to welcome you back for another stay! Thanks again for choosing us.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2023

Love the location. Easy access to Central Station and surrounded by great restaurants. Room was small but not overly so. Biggest complaint was the A/C. For one, it would turn off if you removed the key, leaving your room a hotbox when you returned. Even when the A/C was on, it still struggled to keep up, even when outside temps were in the mid-20s.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Coastal59960042698
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Hello!

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us.

We're glad to hear you loved our great location and the convenience it offers with access to Central Station and surrounded by great restaurants. It's great that the room size was reasonable for you.

However, we apologize for the issues you experienced with the A/C. We understand the importance of a comfortable room temperature, and we're sorry for any inconvenience caused by the key removal turning off the A/C and the struggle to keep up with the outside temperatures. Your comments are valuable, and we'll certainly look into addressing these concerns to enhance our guests' experiences.

We appreciate your understanding and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an improved stay in the future.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2023

Amazing service from the whole team! I was made to feel so welcome and a big thank you to Mac for the amazing birthday cake towel origami!
Great location with plenty to see/do/eat at walking distance, very clean and comfortable room also!
Thank you 57 Hotel xo

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tiarne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Hello Tiarna!

Thank you so much for your lovely words and kind appreciation!

We're thrilled to hear that you had an amazing experience with our team and that Mac's birthday cake towel origami made your stay even more special. It warms our hearts to know you felt genuinely welcome.

We're delighted you enjoyed our great location and found plenty to explore within walking distance.

Thank you for choosing 57 Hotel! We can't wait to welcome you back for another wonderful stay.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2023

· A quirky hotel in Sydney. Check in was a breeze, staff very helpful and friendly. The reception area with its complimentary coffee machine (available 24 hours) was a brilliant idea. WiFi complimentary and very good. Good security to front doors and lifts. And you must check out the "disco lift" Loved it.
The wall covering in the room was unique, some sort of carpet or similar. Yet somehow fitted into the vibe of the hotel.
The bed was very comfortable and we had no trouble sleeping. There were no wardrobes as such, but there was sufficient handing space. Hotel would not be suitable for an extended stay.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael and Cin... O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Hi Cindy and Michael,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience.

We're thrilled to hear you found our hotel quirky with a disco vibe! The complimentary coffee machine in the reception area seems to have hit the right note, and we're pleased you enjoyed it along with the complimentary and reliable WiFi.

It's awesome that you appreciated the unique "disco lift" – it's always a hit!

We appreciate your note about the limited hanging space, and we'll certainly keep that in mind for future improvements.

We cannot wait to host you back soon.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews