We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$189
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Priceline
AU$172
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$136
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Christoph N

Central but noisy

Review of 57 Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Nov 2023via mobile
The hotel is close to Central, so if you want to rely on public transport, it’s convenient.
However it lies on a busy street, that has traffic the whole night.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
Breakfast consists of packaged sweet cakes. There is nothing that is not sweet. Coffee is great, the machine even produces Cappuccino and Latte Macciato.
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 13 Nov 2023
Hi 895christophn,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

We're glad to hear you found our hotel conveniently located near Central for easy access to public transport. However, we apologize for any disturbance caused by the busy street noise during the night.

Unfortunately, we do not advertise and offer breakfast here at 57 Hotel. The items you are referring to are our complimentary morning bites which we provide to our guests at no extra cost.

On a brighter note, we appreciate your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff. It's wonderful to know you enjoyed our coffee offerings, including the Cappuccino and Latte Macchiato from our machine.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and enhance your experience.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$164
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
  • Vio.com
    AU$173
1.3 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$280
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$263
  • Vio.com
    AU$243
  • Official Site
    AU$271
2.1 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$235
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$235
  • Vio.com
    AU$235
  • Expedia.com
    AU$235
1.0 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$144
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$146
  • Agoda.com
    AU$121
  • Vio.com
    AU$146
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Booking.com
AU$269
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$269
  • Vio.com
    AU$269
  • Expedia.com
    AU$269
1.8 km from 57 Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
Lobby
Booking.com
AU$179
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$143
  • Agoda.com
    AU$129
  • Expedia.com
    AU$179
1.0 km from 57 Hotel
Aster Rooftop Bar
InterContinental
AU$335
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$335
  • Priceline
    AU$335
  • Hotels.com
    AU$335
2.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Priceline
AU$146
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    AU$161
  • Agoda.com
    AU$135
  • Algotels
    AU$190
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
Booking.com
AU$419
No prepayment needed
  • FourSeasons.com
    AU$420
  • Algotels
    AU$395
  • Priceline
    AU$419
2.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$335
Fully refundable
  • Shangri-La.com
    AU$335
  • Vio.com
    AU$305
  • Priceline
    AU$335
2.6 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (2,809)
Filter reviews
2,809 results
Traveller rating
1,290
1,037
292
118
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,290
1,037
292
118
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station surry hills disco lift coffee and pastries disco lights dancing queen great location complimentary breakfast king room short stay one night stay great place to stay few minutes walk enjoyed my stay would stay again comfy bed business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 2,809 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2023

The whole experience was so relaxing, I didn’t want to leave.
I was upgraded because they were a bit quiet after a busy weekend.
The room, bed and pillows, bathroom were perfect.
It was perfectly quiet.

Room tip: I would have liked availability of something to eat when I arrived and breakfast in the morning.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max Drobyakov, Other at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2023

Hello Jane!

Thank you so much for your fantastic review – we're delighted to hear you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the upgraded experience. It's great to know that the room, bed, pillows, and bathroom met your expectations, and that the atmosphere was perfectly quiet.

We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back for more tranquility in the future.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2023 via mobile

I was disappointed in this hotel which purports to be 4* but really is more like a three. The room I had was very dark and gloomy and very noisy with plumbing and fridge noises; no mini bar; just very basic. I didn’t like having to go downstairs to get a cup of tea. The breakfast offerings were extremely minimal and not fresh. The staff were lovely though.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank annet144
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Hi Annett,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, even though it was accompanied by a low rating.

I'm pleased to hear that our exceptional team provided you with excellent service during your stay. We take immense pride in our commitment to customer service, and it's always rewarding to know that our efforts were appreciated.

I regret to learn that our unique and unconventional design did not resonate with your personal taste. While we typically receive high praise for our design from most guests, I understand that tastes differ.

I'm sorry to hear that your room wasn't as quiet as you expected. I've forwarded your comments to our maintenance team for a thorough investigation and necessary improvements.

In regards to the breakfast, I would like to clarify that 57 Hotel does not offer or advertise any breakfast options as we simply do not operate food and beverage outlets. What you may be referring to are our complimentary morning bites, which we provide to all our guests at no extra cost, as an added value to your accommodation. These items usually include packaged pastries with a long shelf life and fresh fruits. I apologize if they didn't meet your expectations regarding freshness.

I hope there was a redeeming aspect and you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2023 via mobile

Thoroughly recommend this hotel for location (a short walk from Central Station) and value for money. The single room was clean, comfortable and a perfect size for one person. Tea, coffee and breakfast supplies in the foyer were a bonus. Staff pleasant and helpful. I would absolutely stay again.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank delasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Hi Delasmum,

Thank you for your fantastic review!

We're thrilled to hear that you had an excellent experience at our hotel and found it to be great value for money. It's wonderful to know that you appreciated the convenient location, clean and comfortable single room, and the added bonus of tea, coffee, and morning bites supplies in the foyer.

We're also pleased that our staff's pleasant and helpful service left a positive impression.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2023

The hotel is dark
The rooms were not properly cleaned
Staff were attentive and helpful
Outdated decor not inviting
Coffee/tea was very good
We were shocked at the initial room we were given we had requested a mobility friendly room. However Bridgette was very kind and sorted this for our 2nd and third night. This was greatly appreciated, Thankyou
Location of hotel great

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Hi Sian,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay, though it's regrettable that your rating was on the lower side.

We're delighted to know that our dedicated team went the extra mile to ensure your comfort during your stay. Our commitment to exceptional customer service is a point of pride for us, and it's gratifying to hear that you experienced it firsthand. We're also pleased that our prime location and the quality of our complimentary coffee and morning bites met your expectations.

On the flip side, we're sorry to learn that our distinctive and unconventional design didn't quite align with your preferences. While it's true that most of our guests highly appreciate it, we understand that personal tastes vary.

We apologize for the initial room assignment not matching your needs. If your mobility-friendly room request had been communicated during the booking process, we could have ensured the right room type from the start. We're glad that once you raised this concern upon arrival, we were able to upgrade you, free of charge, to a King mobility-friendly room for the remainder of your stay. It's reassuring to hear that this room better suited your preferences.

Your feedback is valuable to us, and we appreciate the opportunity to improve. We hope to have the chance to provide you with a more satisfying experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2023

The room is clean and comfortable and the staff are always friendly and helpful.
As I am staying about once a month I would prefer the room with the big window on the street side rather than the smaller room looking into the ally.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 787malcolmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Hi Malcolm,

Thank you for your continued support!

We're pleased to hear that you find our rooms clean and comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful. Your feedback regarding room preferences is duly noted, and we'll do our best to accommodate your request for a street-side room in the future.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews