We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sian C

Hotel 57 review

Review of 57 Hotel
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Oct 2023
The hotel is dark
The rooms were not properly cleaned
Staff were attentive and helpful
Outdated decor not inviting
Coffee/tea was very good
We were shocked at the initial room we were given we had requested a mobility friendly room. However Bridgette was very kind and sorted this for our 2nd and third night. This was greatly appreciated, Thankyou
Location of hotel great
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 30 Oct 2023
Hi Sian,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay, though it's regrettable that your rating was on the lower side.

We're delighted to know that our dedicated team went the extra mile to ensure your comfort during your stay. Our commitment to exceptional customer service is a point of pride for us, and it's gratifying to hear that you experienced it firsthand. We're also pleased that our prime location and the quality of our complimentary coffee and morning bites met your expectations.

On the flip side, we're sorry to learn that our distinctive and unconventional design didn't quite align with your preferences. While it's true that most of our guests highly appreciate it, we understand that personal tastes vary.

We apologize for the initial room assignment not matching your needs. If your mobility-friendly room request had been communicated during the booking process, we could have ensured the right room type from the start. We're glad that once you raised this concern upon arrival, we were able to upgrade you, free of charge, to a King mobility-friendly room for the remainder of your stay. It's reassuring to hear that this room better suited your preferences.

Your feedback is valuable to us, and we appreciate the opportunity to improve. We hope to have the chance to provide you with a more satisfying experience in the future.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$222
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$244
  • KLOOK
    AU$208
  • Expedia.com
    AU$245
2.1 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$210
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$210
  • Expedia.com
    AU$211
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$211
1.0 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$184
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$167
  • Hotel Website
    AU$184
  • Vio.com
    AU$184
1.3 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$295
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$287
  • Expedia.com
    AU$316
  • Vio.com
    AU$315
1.8 km from 57 Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
AU$137
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$131
  • Agoda.com
    AU$118
  • Vio.com
    AU$131
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Aster Rooftop Bar
AU$360
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$360
  • Priceline
    AU$360
  • Expedia.com
    AU$361
2.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Lobby
AU$149
  • Priceline
    AU$127
  • Agoda.com
    AU$119
  • Expedia.com
    AU$142
1.0 km from 57 Hotel
AU$130
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
    AU$167
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Expedia.com
    AU$168
1.4 km from 57 Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
Hotel Views
AU$330
Exclusive Member Rate Guarantee
  • Booking.com
    AU$330
  • Vio.com
    AU$313
  • Priceline
    AU$330
2.6 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$400
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    AU$400
  • Priceline
    AU$400
  • Expedia.com
    AU$402
2.5 km from 57 Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (2,816)
Filter reviews
2,817 results
Traveller rating
1,295
1,040
292
118
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,295
1,040
292
118
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central station surry hills disco lift coffee and pastries disco lights dancing queen great location complimentary breakfast king room short stay one night stay great place to stay few minutes walk enjoyed my stay would stay again comfy bed business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 2,817 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2023

The room is clean and comfortable and the staff are always friendly and helpful.
As I am staying about once a month I would prefer the room with the big window on the street side rather than the smaller room looking into the ally.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 787malcolmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Hi Malcolm,

Thank you for your continued support!

We're pleased to hear that you find our rooms clean and comfortable and our staff friendly and helpful. Your feedback regarding room preferences is duly noted, and we'll do our best to accommodate your request for a street-side room in the future.

We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2023

The staff were freindly and welcoming, facilities were clean and comfortable. Slept like a log. obviously the proximity to central after an 11 hour flight was a huge bonus, as we were able to walk a short distance before falling into those same aforementioned, comfy beds and floofy pillows. Thanks again.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Timothy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Hi Timothy,

We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay with us!

It's wonderful to know that you found our staff friendly and welcoming, and that the facilities were clean and comfortable. A restful night's sleep is always a plus!

We're delighted that our central location was convenient for you, especially after a long 11-hour flight. Being able to walk a short distance and sink into our comfy beds with fluffy pillows is definitely a bonus.

Thank you for choosing us, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2023

OK basic room. No windows with a view to outside ie. just a bathroom frosted window that doesn't open. Bathroom had pink mould.
Staff were friendly and coffee offered in the foyer was good.
Great location.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Sunshine01288879508
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2023

Hi Sunshine,

Thanks for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us.

We're happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed the coffee in the foyer.

We apologize for the room not meeting your expectations. We do have various room types, designs and layouts here at 57 Hotel. Please contact us directly on your next return to Sydney and we will find the best fit for you.

Sorry about the bathroom issue; we're addressing it with our housekeeping team.

On the bright side, we're glad you liked our location.

Your feedback helps us improve, and we hope to provide a better experience next time.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2023

Very cool and cosy hotel in the middle of Sydney. We felt very comfortable right away. Top coffee, banana bread and good music selection in the lift 10/10. We would recommend the hotel anytime. Price performance is ok

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MaxS4168
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

Hi Max,

Thanks so much for your awesome review!

We're thrilled to hear that you found our hotel cool and cozy, and we're delighted that you enjoyed the music selection in the lift. It's always nice to know that our guests feel comfortable and recommend us.

We cannot wait to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2023

Clean, tidy, friendly staff and modern feel. Terrible overpriced room, small is an understatement, especially for what we have been charged.
There is a clear glass wall separating the bathroom from the bedroom. Not quite right if your sharing the room with a friend.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Max D, Guest Services / Front Office at 57 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2023

Hi Nick,

We genuinely appreciate your feedback, although we're a bit surprised by your overall rating of just one star.

We're thrilled that you were impressed by our commitment to cleanliness, the recent renovations we've undertaken, and the exceptional service provided by our dedicated team. It's always rewarding to know that our efforts are acknowledged. However, we're left somewhat taken aback as to why this didn't translate into a higher rating.

We do regret that you found the room to be on the smaller side. Please keep in mind that we offer a variety of room types with different layouts and designs here at 57 Hotel. On your next visit to Sydney, we'd be more than happy to assist you in selecting the perfect accommodation to suit your preferences.

Regarding your mention of the bathroom layout, it's worth noting that while the wall is indeed made of glass, every room is equipped with blackout curtains to ensure your privacy.

We sincerely hope that there was something positive about your stay that might encourage you to consider returning to 57 Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Max
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews