We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor place for getting rest!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chili Blue Backpackers
Ranked #84 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor place for getting rest!!!”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The showers are ok, 3 cubicles, not so well suited for woman.
Toilets are fine too, they seem to be reasonably clean but often you get yobs making a mess of the toilets, by urinating over the floors and seats, someone spewed all over the walls and left it like that. The locks often get broken on the toilets, I had to fix it myself twice as it wasn't getting done and we were down to one toilet.
The courtyard is rubbish and small.

The wifi didn't work, had to use library wifi near city

The rooms are really hot and stuffy with no air con, their a fan in the room but it dries your eyes and throat and makes you feel terrible, we're going to have to check out now because we just can't get any sleep with the extreme heat.

The kitchen area is small and we never bother ever using it.

This hostel boasts how good it is but really it's quite horrible and noisy and full of noisy drunk people the whole time.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    15
    17
    22
    68
See reviews for
2
35
49
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Chili Blue is cheap and that's about it. Our room was right by the stairs and the bathrooms hence very noisy. We had to walk through the communal areas and via an outside courtyard to reach the room. After 10pm quiet rule was ignored. No staff at hostel overnight. Communal areas overcrowded and outdated. Cockroaches in rooms and corridor. Breakfast was adequate.

Most guests were gap year students - some long term.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simbelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

the rooms,toilets,showers were fine,but the bedrooms were cold at night, the staff were rude several times and not helpful

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
146 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Oke, it's cheap. That's it really. And it makes you doing A LOT of things outdoors, as you never want to return to this dirty hostel.
When we walked in the owner didn't even bother to get his finger out of his nose. We could hardly walk into the room, as the stuff of our 'roommates' was literally everywhere, except in the closets. My bottom sheet had some spots I'd rather not know where or whom they came from, and somebody was friendly enough to leave his chewing gum on the wall where my pillow was. Oh, and that pillow, yeah... that was covered whit blood stains. Enjoy your stay people, we're off to their neighbours!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We spent 5 nights in Chilli Blue in June 2011. We decided to go with them since they were offering the cheapest accommodation in the city. The place turn to be disgusting due to very poor quality of the staff. They seem to assume that if they are cheaper than their competition they do not have to care. That still would not be so bad if they were not extremely rude in personal contacts. I discourage everybody to stay there - better pay 2 - 3 bucks more and have polite guys in the reception desk!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#35 of 139 in Sydney
120 reviews
Surry Hills
Home Backpackers
Home Backpackers
#40 of 139 in Sydney
228 reviews
Sydney Central Backpackers
#83 of 139 in Sydney
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eva's Backpackers
#18 of 139 in Sydney
235 reviews
Zing Backpackers
#34 of 139 in Sydney
135 reviews
Summer House Backpackers
#20 of 139 in Sydney
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chili Blue Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chili Blue Backpackers

Property: Chili Blue Backpackers
Address: 144 Victoria St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price range (per night): $21 - $107
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chili Blue Backpackers 1.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLEASE NOTE THAT WE HAVE NEW MANAGEMENT AND RENOVATIONS HAVE BEEN UNDERGOING SINCE MAY 2014 Comfortable, clean & central. What you are looking for? Welcome to ChilliBlue - the perfect place to base yourself in Sydney. Whether you are coming for a night or two or staying for months you will find that Chilli Blue will provide the warm friendly, clean and comfortable home away from home that you have been looking for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Chili Blue Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chili Blue Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing