We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little find in the Financial District”
Review of PJ O'Brien's

PJ O'Brien's
Ranked #303 of 6,844 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Located within the Grace Hotel complex on the corner of King & York Streets P.J.O'Brien's offers a taste of Ireland in the heart of the CBD. The warm glow of the open fire and traditional Irish music drowning out the hustle and bustle of city life. As daylight fades the 'craic' begins, settle in with a creamy pint of Guinness or one of our many beers, wines and spirits. Our kitchen offers a variety of savoury Irish dishes, pizza and contemporary pub meals. Let the friendly staff at P.J.O'Brien's make your day or night an occasion to remember, come in, kick back and discover the 'craic' that P.J.O'Brien's is famous for
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Was in Sydney while the Mrs. presented at a conference, and this place was a grand spot to grab a light lunch and sample the local brews. The ambiance resembled several of the pubs we visited in last years visit to Dublin and Waterford, the decor, the bar set up, the furnishings - all looked straight out of the Republic. The Vegetable soup was nothing short of outstanding, and the wait staff very attentive and engaging, even for someone without a brogue! Granted, I was a bit disappointed to learn it was a chain (would not recommend the one in Cairns, BTW), but I'd trade the Aussies straight up for this Sydney establishment, and give them every TGI Fridays and Chilis in return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank blaisej923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsObriens_Syd, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi blaisej923,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review!

A large amount effort was placed into ensuring that P.J.O'Brien's would feel as if it was straight out of Ireland itself, so we are delighted to hear your comments regarding the decor and ambiance.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and that our staff were attentive.

We hope to see you again soon.

The team at P.J.O'Brien's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Dropped in for a couple of beers with friends and the vibe was so pleasant we stayed for dinner. The food was your quintessential pub food with generous portions served by an all Irish crew.....good value all round.

1  Thank jimmyhendriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsObriens_Syd, General Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hi jimmyhendriks,

Thank you for your kind review! Great to hear you enjoyed our food and service.

We hope to see you again soon.

The team at P.J.O'Brien's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We ate at PJ O'Brien's twice, and it was jam-packed and raucous each time. The hardworking waitstaff were too few for the very large number of drinkers and diners - but they stayed smiling and kept plugging. The pub grub was certainly filling, even if the options were limited. The clientele seemed to be almost exclusively 30 somethings just having left work, and meeting mates for a drink before heading home. Its location makes it easily accessable to visitors, and there are interior doors to the Grace Hotel. The upstairs is slightly less hectic, but food has to be schlepped up quite a flight of stairs, something the waitstaff appeared to not like doing, but if there are no seats downstairs, that's the only option.

Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

Having been into other P J O'Briens we knew what to expect. The place has a great atmosphere and there was some good acoustic music being played to an unappreciative audience. I don't like it when nobody applauds a musician. The Guinness was great but the food was average. I've had better food at other branches of this pub. The menu is good with something to suit most people and all the girls serving seemed to be Irish which was great because we've just returned from Ireland and there were none there! Maybe all the Irish girls have moved to Australia! They must be homesick because there weren't many smiles.....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank andream0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsObriens_Syd, Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hi, thank you so much for taking the time to review PJ's here in Sydney. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Guinness! We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal. Hopefully you can call into us again & the experience will be a more positive one.

Regards,
P.J's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

Though a little loud this is a good place to eat and drink. The Beef and Guiness pie is highly recommended.

1  Thank Anne-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJsObriens_Syd, Manager at PJ O'Brien's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hi Anne-Marie, thank you so much for taking the time to review PJ's here in Sydney. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the Beef & Guinness pie. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Slainte.

Regards,
P.J's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PJ O'Brien's also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to PJ O'Brien's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing