We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant Location good selection of seafood. ”

Nick's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #513 of 6,902 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: USD 22 - USD 108
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Nick's Seafood Restaurant has become somewhat of a Sydney institution over the last decade since opening its doors in 1998. With Nick's years of experience in the seafood wholesale business, it does not surprise anyone that Nick's Seafood Restaurant is the leader in fresh and high quality seafood produce in Sydney. Everyday our produce is carefully sourced by our group of expert buyers at the Sydney Fish Markets. The menu contains an array of fresh fish, oysters, crustaceans and lobsters. Our chef's enhance the flavours, with the food showcasing natural flavours and simplicity. Overlooking the shores of Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour, Nick's Seafood Restaurant has all that a delectable seafood dining experience should.... Fresh seafood, professional service with breathtaking panoramic oceans views of Darling Harbour.
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

This is not a cheap restaurant but selection of seafood was very good. My tuna was cooked perfectly for me and so was the octopus starter. Potion sizes about right. Initially a bit slow on service and starter was not hot but main course was good and served either with salad or chips. We had one of each so that we could share. Mains were all served together bar one which arrived a couple of minutes later. We were a group of eight so well timed. No sure if I would return again as there is a huge choice in the area.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Jmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicks R, Manager at Nick's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for posting your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed you experience with us at Nick’s, we hope you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018

A friend visiting Sydney wanted a perfect Australian meal and wasn’t disappointed. We shared a dozen freshly shucked Sydney Rock oysters and followed that with kangaroo perfectly cooked and grilled John Dory also wonderfully prepared. We followed it with delicious sorbets and tiny chocolate desserts. Staff were polite and while busy managed to be attentive.
As the sun was setting over the bay we finished a delicious Hunter River Chardonnay...
A perfect end to a lovely day!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank colombine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicks R, Manager at Nick's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review on your recent dining experience. We are so glad you enjoyed your Seafood evening by the Harbour, thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

Despite reading past reviews of poor service my wife and I felt compelled to give Nicks a chance on Sunday night (4 Nov 18). My own memory of a great meal about 15 years ago also encouraged us to give it a go. When our waiter forgot to ask or give us any water we treated that as part and parcel of it being a large and busy restaurant. Our order consisting of "Giant King Prawns", "Vongole & Crab Meat Pasta" and "Barramundi with Salad" took over an hour to come out but they all came out together. The "Giant King Prawns" consisted of 4 large-ish (giant?) size prawns butterflied and grilled with garlic butter on top (photo attached). The shell being so thin we found it difficult to get the meat off it. This wasn't helped by the fact that the prawns were not meaty, plumpish prawns. Despite this the prawns work out to be $10.50 each! The "Vongole & Crab Meat Pasta" has an overbearing sweetness. We were told by the waiter it's because of the addition of sweet chilli. This meant that the delicate tasting seafood like vongole/clams and crab meat got overpowered by the sweet sauce. The pasta itself wasn't overcooked but barely acceptable for a restaurant of this level (or claim to be). The "Barramundi with Salad" was not worth $42 either with the salad not having any olive oil or dressing of any kind. We raised our concerns with the restaurant manager particularly about the prawns and the lack of them on the plate and that if only 4 prawns were to be served for $42 then it should be stated. He defensively replied with words to the effect of "we don't quantify how many prawns or any other seafood for any of our dishes on the menu". Oh, and about the sweet sauce which we also mentioned to the manager...he claimed it's because of the pesto running through the sauce...so which is it - sweet chilli sauce or the pesto? Either way it has no place for a delicate dish like the one we ordered. So there...after paying we left with a large serving of incredulity!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BlueBear2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicks R, Manager at Nick's Seafood Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You will find that our prices are competitive and reflect the quality of our produce which comes in fresh daily and also our position in Darling harbour. We are sorry you found us to be overpriced. The dishes that you have described are some of our best selling products and very popular. Some are more elaborate and some we do not add too many flavours as we prefer it stands alone. Our Chefs are all highly skilled and passionate professionals who have been at Nick’s for many years, we did however pass on your comments. We hope you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

As hubby and I enjoy seafood we decided to head to Sydney and visit Nicks seafood for lunch. We weren’t disappointed as the food was delicious. Would definitely recommend

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

Lovely spot was given the table right on the balcony which was great. The seafood was beautiful and fresh and you must get the signature Platter with Lobster Mornay. It was a friendly greeting and seated quickly with menu's and ordered entree and drinks but then everything slowed down. We would have certainly ordered more drinks and probably desert if we had seen some staff but they disappeared. Like I said the Seafood was great, the service not so!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank MarcZ381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nick's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nick's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing