We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal”
Review of The Ternary

The Ternary
Ranked #15 of 6,670 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 28
Cuisines: Asian, Australian, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: The Grill Kitchen, Asian Kitchen and Wine Bar represent the idea of a comfortable and social space where not only great food and wine is shared, but also moments and memories. Our objective is to celebrate fresh produce, capturing three senses; smell, taste and sight. Executive Chef Anthony Flowers brings a contemporary approach to the menu with a focus on texture, balance, local produce and a harmony of flavours. At The Ternary, we have a unique ability to intertwine cultures and cuisines while showcasing an impressive diversity of interactive live cooking styles. Our atmosphere is open and welcoming and serves to highlight the cooking skills and creativity of our Chefs, bringing the three Ternary pillars together and encouraging our guests to converse and engage.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

After seeing the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, my partner and I decided to check out the Ternary, we were not disappointed. Our steak and our stirfry were both amazing, full of flavour and perfectly cooked. Both priced reasonably well too! Our waitress (Helen) was extremely efficient, without being too in your face, and incredibly friendly and easy to talk to. The creme brulee and chocolate tart were perfect. Will definitely be going back next time we are in Sydney and would recommend anyone that is in Sydney go for dinner!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelbennett123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, Director of Culinary at The Ternary, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear michaelbennett123,

Thank-you so much for taking the time to leave us with your positive feedback. It's great to read that you enjoyed your evening experience at The Ternary. We really appreciate the feedback and I will pass it along to the team and in particular Helen. I hope we can impress you again soon at The Ternary.

Kind regards,
Director of Culinary
Anthony Flowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Went to The Ternary for dinner without any exceptions outside the standard dining experience and boy did this place not only exceed them, but they blew them out of the water. The experience was spectacular! I felt as comfortable as being at a old friends dinner party as soon as we were seated due to the friendly nature of the host Helen and the food was delicious, we tried 4 entrees and a main each (you can't go wrong on choosing off this menu) they were all great and washed it down with red as well as a few cheeky cocktails. Can't wait to return, definite highlight and have recommended to friends visiting Sydney as a must do and ensure to ask for Helen and try the steak!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Liam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, Director of Culinary at The Ternary, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Liam C,

Thank-you so much for taking the time to leave us with your positive feedback. It's great to read that you had such an enjoyable experience with us at The Ternary. We pride ourselves on our food and service and I will pass along your positive comments to our team and in particular Helen. I hope we can impress you again soon at The Ternary.

Kind regards,
Director of Culinary
Anthony Flowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Stayed at Novotel Darling Harbour so we tried their restaurant, The Ternary. It was a great choice as service and food were excellent. The steak two of us had was cooked to perfection and was a good size, other meals were similarly very good. The view across Darling Harbour is great at night and although the bar/dining area can get a little noisy, the overall experience was very good. I remember this restaurant being pleasant (and smaller) many years ago so it was great to see the quality and attention to detail was very evident. The Asian meal offerings were also very tempting and looked delicious but ... perhaps next time, I mean who can go past a 300 g fillet steak cooked exactly as ordered?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, Director of Culinary at The Ternary, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Trevor W,

Thank-you for taking the time to leave feedback about your experience at The Ternary. I will pass along your warm comments to the team as it motivates them to continue to deliver amazing service and food to all our guests. I hope to welcome you back to The Ternary soon!

Kind regards,
Director of Culinary
Anthony Flowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The Ternary is in the Novotel, brightly light with high ceiling and picture windows giving views of the CBD. We arrived during happy hour and enjoyed large glasses of wine for only $6 in the bar.
The extensive menu mixes Asian dishes with traditional grills. For starters we chose peking duck stramrd open bun and tempura zucchini blossom. Both were delicious. Udon noodles with prawns and a t-bone steak concluded our excellent meal. Our server was friendly and attentive.

Thank GKTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, Director of Culinary at The Ternary, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear GKTravellers,

Thank-you so much for taking the time to leave us with your positive feedback. It's great to read that you had such an enjoyable experience with us at The Ternary. We pride ourselves on our food and service and I will pass along your positive comments to our team. I hope we can impress you again soon at The Ternary.

Kind regards,
Director of Culinary
Anthony Flowers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I really don't see what all the hype is. We ate breakfast here every morning and it was ok at BEST. They offered the same thing EVERYDAY. The only change was from hash browns, to fried potatoes, back to hash browns. This was more of an asian-themed breakfast each morning. Food quality was fair. Glad it came with our hotel stay, otherwise we would NOT have paid the daily rate for breakfast as it was not worth it.

Thank Rhopar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelSydneyDHH, Manager at The Ternary, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Dear Rhopar33,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback, whilst your dining experience should have been enjoyable I am sorry to read that it did not meet your expectations and for this I truly apologise. It is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve, here at The Ternary we work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience and it is apparent in this case we fell short.

If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great Ternary experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

Kind Regards,
Anthony Flowers
Director of Culinary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ternary also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Ternary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing