We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, clean, safe”
Review of Sydney Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sydney Lodge Motel
Ranked #140 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Queensland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfy, clean, safe”
Reviewed 2 January 2011

I stayed here over the New Year period. I was concerned about the noise from the traffic but I got to my room (first floor, closest to road) and could not hear the traffic. The only sound I could hear was from the other occupants in the hall.

Yes, the rooms are small and basic but this is NOT the Hilton. You should know that before staying here, there are photos on their website of the rooms.

The staff very very friendly and quick to fix things such as the broken hairdryer in my friends room.

The motel has internet for $3 an hour, room key drop off box for after hours departure.

The train station is only 5 minutes walk and bus stop into the city just across the road.

A few doors up is a cute little Italian place called Jerry's Place, the food and gelato is amazing and they do free deliveries over $20.

Aldi and Coles are just up the road too.

The bed was comfy, the water pressure in the shower great as is the air con. The tv is an LCD screen.

This place is cheap and cheerful and very convenient at just 3 kms outside the CBD.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elvie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    12
    11
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
11
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cohuna, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Walking in to a rude guy on front desk we went up to our room or shall i call it a box? the door was open as house cleaning must have just cleaned it i am guessing as they were on the floor doing other rooms.... Our room was far from clean As we entered we shut the door to find tissues on the floor followed by someones shoes none of ours dont know how long they have been sitting there either...went to sit at the table and their was blood on the table then sat on bottom bunk and copped a broken spring to the bum ... Very very noisy could hear every guest that was staying there atm.... Would never stay here again for what we paid i have stayed in alot nicer places in sydney (crowne plaza Darling harbour and swiss grand @ bondi) and paid less than i did here very very disappointed ..

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cfehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Northeast Vic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We stayed here with 3 young children, found the rooms clean, breakfast was included which was great. Easy to get to from the train station. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berley74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, ACT, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2008

I live in Canberra and in 2008 will be attending many operas so The Edgecliff Lodge Motel will become my regular weekend retreat for my visits. I've stayed at this motel four times so far. Its accessibility within a few kms from the M5 exit allows me to be checked in after a 3 - 31/2 hour drive. There's free undercover parking on a 1st come basis or unlimited free street parking at weekends. The simple breakfast provided is cereal, 3 slices white bread, fresh milk, OJ, tea & coffee bags & the kitchenette is perfect for my needs with a fridge. There's an excellent Italian pizza place a few doors up the hill towards Edgecliffe underground rail station. The station complex has a large range of shops: coffee lounges, delis, a supermarket, ATMs, fresh fruit store, bakery, wine & beer outlet. You'll find the room air conditioning useful to slightly muffle the car sounds from the very busy New South Head Road, a small price to pay for easy access to public transport or simply hail a taxi. It's a budget place but its location is what I want.

  • Liked — Simple comfortable room in a handy Sydney location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pikelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2007

The Edgecliff motel, also known as the Lodge Motel is a lovely budget
accomodation located just off Rushcutter's Bay on the main New South Head Road. We were travelling with a 3 year old and it was our first
trip to Sydney Australia and I must say it was just really wonderful.
We stayed for a week. The hotel is a no frills, budget accomodation, very freindly and very safe, located in the posh Edgecliff suburb and
just walking distance from the Edgecliff train station. We stayed in a double bedroom for AUD70 a night (for the entire room and not per person which is great). And you get some good cold breakfast as well.
The room was well equipped with a fridge, microwave, hairdryer, television and ensuite bath. All for only AUD70.

Another conveinance is the bus right at the doorstep. Add to that a wonderful Indian restaurant up the road and you couldn't ask for more
if you're on a shoestring budget. Infact, you can buy a city rail ticket for AUD 33.00 which gives you unlimited travel on the city's buses, trains and ferries for a week. You can get in the airport station itself and then take the train to Edgecliff and then just walk down the New South Head Road to the motel.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank RESHMATHIAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Song Hotel Redfern
#117 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#115 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
DeVere Hotel
#137 of 175 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Lodge Motel

Property: Sydney Lodge Motel
Address: 44 New South Head Road, Sydney, New South Wales NSW 2027, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price range (per night): $99 - $171
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Sydney Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing