We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Watch out - Bed Bugs!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verona Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Verona Guest House
Ranked #12 of 62 Sydney B&B and Inns
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watch out - Bed Bugs!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Watch out for those bed bugs! Our stay was very pleasant until I ended up covered in bites from bed bugs (>150 itchy bites!!)! The owner admitted they were found in the room earlier, he thought the room was treated properly (I guess not!). We changed from room 5 to room 3 without treating luggage first, so there is a change they have spread. The owner believed they must have hidden in the mattress, so he got a new one. We got one night off as compensation.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunSyd, Guest Relations Manager at Verona Guest House, responded to this review, 23 February 2011
Thankyou very much for your review. To the best of our knoweldge this is the only reported case of bed bugs we have found in ten years. We voluntarily had each room tested six months ago and there were no bed bugs to be found. On 17 February 2011, in response to your concerns, we had every room tested and retreated for bed bugs. Only room 5 was found to be contaminated and the mattress and all bedding has been replaced. We consider this to be a very serious issue and we will be testing each room on a minimum six-monthly basis. Thank you for bringing this so promptly to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    21
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
36
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
orange
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed here recently and found the Verona clean and comfortable, with a great brekky each morning. The location is great (close to a number of cafes and a short busride to Sydney CBD), parking easy and a very comfortable feel to the place. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

Appreciative of the anytime use of lounge (with digital tv, dvd player, books, newspapers, magazines) and kitchen (well stocked and able to do own breakfasts - eggs, fruit, different cereals and breads, teas, coffee, toaster etc.). Nice that they don't come into your room during stay (unless you ask them to). Found it by chance when looking to move onto another place (although had seen good reviews before leaving UK), stayed 4 nights and liked it so much booked another 3 nights for following week. They even moved beds around in between to make it more spacious (had double and single beds - triple room). Get water in room, any hot drinks can make down in kitchen and bring up - there was a little table and chairs so could eat in room, but more fun chatting to other guests round kitchen table. Only 1 niggle was tv in our room hadn't good reception as only room not with cable. However, the 100s of stations on the one in lounge made up for it! Owner very helpful and keen to please. There are laundry facilities, but we didn't get to use them. Also has internet connection in room, but didn't get to use that either. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraceT075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2010

Great value, great location, good service, free run of the house and we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polkybondy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

This cute guesthouse is located on the quieter end of Glebe Point Rd, which is a very short walk away from a wide variety of restaurants, the harbour and transport into the city (buses and light rail). If you have a car, street parking is easy to find around the area.

The rooms are basic, though very clean and comfortable and have air-conditioning. Each room has a bathroom, but shares a common living area (with cable television), outside patio and kitchen. The kitchen is extremely well maintained and has a large variety of breakfast foods to choose from in the morning (lots of different cereals, breads, juices, eggs, fruit and yogurt as well as coffee and tea).
The owner is friendly and quick to offer suggestions and recommendations if needed.

As I come to Sydney a lot for concerts/events, I'm planning on staying here again, as it was great value, very quiet and relaxed.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Photosynthesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Surry Hills
57 Hotel
57 Hotel
#36 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#132 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,640 reviews
Hotel Challis
#6 of 62 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verona Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verona Guest House

Property: Verona Guest House
Address: 224 Glebe Point Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price range (per night): $146 - $201
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Verona Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Verona Guest House is one of six identical villas known as the Doctors' Houses in Glebe's prestigious Toxteth Estate. Just 10 minutes to the CBD via light rail or bus, it is the ideal location for those wishing to explore the city yet remain in a village atmosphere. There are 8 boutique rooms with private ensuites, aircon, TV/DVD player, bar fridge and free wifi connection. A daily continental breakfast is provided between 7am-10am. There is free 2 hour free parking on Glebe Point Road MON-FRI 8am-6pm (unrestricted evenings and weekends). Glebe's Blackwattle Bay is a five minute walk to the Tramsheds at Harold Park, the Boat House Restaurant then further through to Sydney's historic fish markets. Sydney University, UTS, RPA and Broadway shopping centre are a 10 minute walk away. Be sure to visit Gleebooks and the Saturday markets located in Glebe's Public school. We are pleased to announce that Esca cafe provides 10% off all meals to guests staying at Verona GuestHouse. Please note that our checkin hours are 2pm-8pm daily. We regret that we cannot provide early checkin or late checkout after 10am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Hotels.com so you can book your Verona Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verona Guesthouse Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing