We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$246
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Algotels
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Charlie C
Lovely stay near Moore Park Stadum
Review of Crown Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Jan 2023
Loved staying here, nearby the Moore Park SCG, Hordern Pavillion and Allianz stadium for sport and concerts I attended.

Crown Street is full of great local restaurants and cafes, and the pub downstairs has great food and drinks.

Rooms are completely silent, air conditioned and beds nice big and comfy.

Everything was nice and clean, looking forward to coming back here on my next trip.
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$184
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$184
  • Hotel Website
    AU$184
  • Expedia.com
    AU$183
2.0 km from Crown Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$274
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$274
  • KLOOK
    AU$233
  • Expedia.com
    AU$274
2.9 km from Crown Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$162
  • Priceline
    AU$169
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Vio.com
    AU$169
0.8 km from Crown Hotel
Free Wifi
Booking.com
AU$156
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$181
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Expedia.com
    AU$156
2.2 km from Crown Hotel
Booking.com
AU$230
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    AU$230
  • Priceline
    AU$230
  • Agoda.com
    AU$230
2.6 km from Crown Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$308
  • Priceline
    AU$325
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$293
  • Hotels.com
    AU$325
2.6 km from Crown Hotel
Restaurant
Room service
InterContinental
AU$375
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$375
  • Algotels
    AU$314
  • Priceline
    AU$375
3.2 km from Crown Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Vio.com
AU$130
  • Expedia.com
    AU$174
  • Agoda.com
    AU$126
  • Algotels
    AU$202
2.2 km from Crown Hotel
Pool
Fitness centre
FourSeasons.com
AU$400
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
    AU$400
  • Priceline
    AU$400
  • Hotels.com
    AU$400
3.4 km from Crown Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$325
  • travelup.com
    AU$327
  • Vio.com
    AU$304
  • Priceline
    AU$325
3.4 km from Crown Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
19
20
9
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
19
20
9
10
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2022

We stayed here for 4 nights in May 2022 and what a calamity of an experience. It even begun before we landed in Sydney with them cancelling our booking due to a water leak in the room they allocated to us. After trying to find alternative accommodation at the last minute we were then advised all was OK. The greeting when we arrived was good and we were shown our room located directly behind the communal kitchen (room 1). Apparently they supplied a continental breakfast each morning with bakery items, cereals, orange juice, coffee but you wouldn't know it because only on one morning of the four we were there we were greeted with leftover crumbs or one lonely croissant. On one morning there was even no milk, coffee or orange juice at all. This place does not have a manned reception which I have no issue with but each time we went downstairs to the bar to ask a question we were treated with distain from the girls working there. The room was spacey but just really poor hygiene and basic....very basic. Then to top it off on our final night the vanity in the bathroom fell off the wall and onto me throwing out all our toiletries and leaving me with a heavy bang on the head. They couldn't fix the problem and instead arranged alternate accommodation at another hotel so we had to pack up our bags and relocate unexpectedly. By the time we got to the other hotel it was 11:15pm and we had to leave the following morning. They didn't even offer us any compensation or at the very least a breakfast voucher considering we had only managed to get something to eat on 1 of the 4 mornings we were there. Just really poor service with little regard to how it impacted us. NEVER AGAIN.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 April 2020

The hotel staff was friendly at the time of greeting. The check-in process was straightforward, and we were show the room in no time. Room was clean and had a view of the main road. The best thing about this hotel was the location, as it was surrounded by many restaurants, cafes, supermarket, a pharmacy, and public transportation.

It was slightly hard to find the entrance of the hotel, as it's located on top of the pub. The complementary continental breakfast is very basic, so we ended having breakfast outside of the hotel. There is no safe. No late check-out option is available, even if the hotel is practically empty.

For a 4* hotel, it's very basic.

Room tip: Ask for the room with the main road view
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joharasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2020

Head upstairs past the noisy pub crowd to the restaurant and you'll find an elegant and quiet place to enjoy a superb meal. I recommend the Australian fish known as barrumundi. The menu has a good variety. The meals are beautifully prepared and presented. A bonus- the prices are reasonable as well.

Date of stay: February 2020
2  Thank Mondo679
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 February 2020

Had the most amazing meal at this restaurant - has a pub facade but awesome bistro upstairs with really friendly staff. Large servings and Sunday roast was amazing - do yourself a favour - you will not be disappointed and all at amazing pub prices.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank debmharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 February 2020

we were very surprise with the hotel and the room, due to it being in the Surry Hills area, as most of the buildings are Heritage. The breakfast facilities were fantastic with a lot of choices. Star was brilliant, her customer service skills were first class.Even though the hotel was in a very busy part of Surry Hills and had a cocktail bar with music, we didn't hear anything in our room. The windows were double glazed.
We usually stay in the CBD area of Sydney we would certainly stay at the Crown again.

Date of stay: February 2020
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews