We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveller rating
9
28
35
32
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
28
35
32
86
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 190 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018 via mobile

The hotel is on a topnotch location. Walking distance from all top attractions in Sydney.
The beds are fine.

So. All positives have been said. And the only reason I did rate two in stead of one.
If that’s all you’re looking for; Criterion is your hotel.
If you’re looking for clean bathrooms, clean toilets, quiet guests, perhaps a tv on your room or TWO chairs in stead of one on a room for 2 people, or just any form of cfort whatsoever, look elsewhere.
If you’ve seen the pictures on the website; that probably was 10 years ago. Check mine for the latest.

Walls were probably white once, tiles are broken, watertaps without knobs (or only one to use on all), soaking wet bathroom floors, etc.
I love to think I’ve visited my share of hostels, hotels, etc, but I can’t remember a place this poorly maintained and dirty.

Criterion hotel? Never again for me.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Menno007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017

I cannot believe we paid for such room. We only stayed one night, out of three, as we were extremely jet-lagged, then we booked another hotel in Sydney, as we could not tolerate one minute in the already paid room.
The worst experience I've had had in so many years of traveling. I didn't expect to see that in the heart of Sydney.
The room was small and dirty (walls and floors not renovated). No hooks or shelves to hang anything (they were obviously removed, based on the holes in the walls). The shower cabin very dirty, we were afraid to touch every little thing around. The room was noisy, even if not facing the street, maybe because of the probably old vent/AC system.

Room tip: Do not book based on the photos online.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank acnaa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Quite a basic hotel but it does the job. Clean, affordable and a great location. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. As long as you're not looking for anything too fancy, I'd definitely recommend it.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyMcGuigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017 via mobile

please do not go to this hotel. this is truly the oldest, dirties hotel ever. The pictures say enough. I do not dare to touch anything, that's how dirty it is. The only thing nice about this hotel is the location. Not looking forward to spend the next 7 nights in this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 880romim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

Title says it all. Great pub in the CBD, food decently cooked and good serving size and service for the money. Seating is at a premium but wander in anyway—you might get lucky. Drinks are reasonable considering the location.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank humblepuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews