We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Review Highlights
Outstanding bookshop

This is an outstanding bookshop in the heart of Sydney. Whatever your interests you are likely to... read more

Reviewed 23 December 2022
Bartonbears
,
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Kinokuniya In Sydney

Have not been here for a good nine years and was glad to return to pay a visit. Those familiar with... read more

Reviewed 3 November 2022
glenndjangkar
,
Jakarta, Indonesia
via mobile
Read all 84 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
49
25
6
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
25
6
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews non fiction large collection bookstore manga browsing galeries comic purchase
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2022

This is an outstanding bookshop in the heart of Sydney. Whatever your interests you are likely to find books on that topic. The staff are friendly and helpful - a necessary quality if you are looking for specific items in this vast space.
The attached cafe makes great coffee and is a welcome opportunity to sit quietly between browsing. We found the sweets available a bit limited by our taste for less sugary offerings but still found a strawberry and cream confection pretty much to our liking.

Date of experience: December 2022
Thank Bartonbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2022 via mobile

Have not been here for a good nine years and was glad to return to pay a visit. Those familiar with Kinokuniya bookstores in Singapore and Indonesia will not be surprised at the large collection of books with an emphasis on mangas, comic books and Japanese language books.

This particular outlet, located in Sydney has a large collection of Australian books both fiction and non-fiction alike.

Kinokuniya in Sydney takes up most of the space in Galeries Victoria’s second floor though it is still smaller than its Singaporean counterpart.

Date of experience: October 2022
Thank glenndjangkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2022 via mobile

Great variety in this bookstore. Large section Manga and Anime but plenty of other mainstream books to suit all tastes.
Nice to wander around the store on a rainy day.

Date of experience: July 2022
1  Thank Albywon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

We love this store and it has an amazing selection of books, especially in the history section. It is very busy so hard to physically distance.

Date of experience: February 2021
4  Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 November 2019

Kinokuniya, the Japanese bookshop chain is ideally located opposite QVB in Sydney. It is more than a bookshop - the selection of books is immense, plus there are a lot of gift ideas. A sanctuary to rest & learn. Staff are helpful.
In the cafe, I went for the much heard of watermelon cake - it looked beautiful garnished with thinly sliced lychees plus colourful flowers. A refreshing cake but I wonder how it retains it's freshness by the end of the day. Cake & chai for about $14.00 was somewhat on the rich side plus I would have liked the cafe to serve some savouries for a light lunch.
There are other japanese shops around such as Muji.
Kinokuniya is a must visit for book lovers and anyone shopping for unusual gifts.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Nalini N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews