We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Review Highlights
My soul is at home here!

Incredible bookshop. Truely the best on the planet! I wish we had one in Melbourne. I’ve visited... read more

Reviewed 14 March 2023
Mynotaur
,
Whittlesea, Australia
via mobile
Outstanding bookshop

This is an outstanding bookshop in the heart of Sydney. Whatever your interests you are likely to... read more

Reviewed 23 December 2022
Bartonbears
,
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Read all 84 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
49
25
6
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
25
6
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews non fiction large collection bookstore manga browsing galeries comic purchase
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Kinokuniya is a beautiful book store with many genres like manga , sci fi etc,

however the price range would be $15 - $60 for some books so other than the prices its very convertient

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Natalia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Books of many genres from manga and sci fi to picture books to non-fiction (although automotive was an omission), great book related merchandise and a wonderful café at the front too. Too hard to resist so don't try! And well worth repeat visits...

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Phoebe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This is located on 2nd floor of the Galleries centre near Town Hall. I checked out the history section and was amazed by how many German history books they had. They also have a huge Japanese and Chinese section. Great store!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Just a fantastic bookstore, very contemporary with everything from classics to graphic novels. What especially got my attention was the famous literature branded clothing - A Clockwork Orange hoodie or 1984 t-shirt anyone? There are also places to sit and peruse, and prices seemed moderately similar to most large bookstores. I forget if they had a coffeeshop (I visited August 2015) but wouldn't surprise me if they do. Located on the popular George Street so it's not difficult to find. Two thumbs up!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I am interested in and study art, architecture and design and Kinokuniya have a fantastic selection of books on these subjects to browse through. I also stock up on felt tip pens as they have a very good selection at reasonable prices.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews