We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 7:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
My soul is at home here!

Incredible bookshop. Truely the best on the planet! I wish we had one in Melbourne. I’ve visited... read more

Reviewed 14 March 2023
Mynotaur
,
Whittlesea, Australia
via mobile
Outstanding bookshop

This is an outstanding bookshop in the heart of Sydney. Whatever your interests you are likely to... read more

Reviewed 23 December 2022
Bartonbears
,
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Read all 84 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
49
25
6
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
49
25
6
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews non fiction large collection bookstore manga browsing galeries comic purchase
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Books of many genres from manga and sci fi to picture books to non-fiction (although automotive was an omission), great book related merchandise and a wonderful café at the front too. Too hard to resist so don't try! And well worth repeat visits...

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank Phoebe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 February 2017

This is located on 2nd floor of the Galleries centre near Town Hall. I checked out the history section and was amazed by how many German history books they had. They also have a huge Japanese and Chinese section. Great store!

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Just a fantastic bookstore, very contemporary with everything from classics to graphic novels. What especially got my attention was the famous literature branded clothing - A Clockwork Orange hoodie or 1984 t-shirt anyone? There are also places to sit and peruse, and prices seemed moderately similar to most large bookstores. I forget if they had a coffeeshop (I visited August 2015) but wouldn't surprise me if they do. Located on the popular George Street so it's not difficult to find. Two thumbs up!

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 February 2017

I am interested in and study art, architecture and design and Kinokuniya have a fantastic selection of books on these subjects to browse through. I also stock up on felt tip pens as they have a very good selection at reasonable prices.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank margaret w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

The store in The Galleries is definitely an awesome store. It is big which means the selection is great. The layout and signage makes it easy to find your way, and if you don't be sure a friendly sales team will lend a helping hand.

My only negative comment is the security guard who makes you feel like you are being followed.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Mariska K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews