We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Sydney Scavenger Hunt: Inside Sydney
2

Book in advance
from
AU$19.19
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Opera Australia
from AU$19.19
More Info
from AU$115.00
More Info
from AU$89.00
More Info
from AU$99.00
More Info
Reviews (1,172)
Filter reviews
1,172 results
Traveller rating
898
183
39
18
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
898
183
39
18
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews performance stage butterfly madama harbour props
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 1,172 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Singing ok, the rest awful.
A typical Australian rip off
Information with the tickets stated that picnics were not allowed but we could buy Egyptian themed food at the venue...... the queue for food was 45 minutes. You can't buy food and drink at the same till so you have to queue another 45 minutes for a drink, by which time either your food is cold, or if you got the beverage first it would be warm and flat. We tried to get food during the performance when queues would be quicker, but security turned us away.
What a disappointment when we eventually got food, half the options had run out. The 'Egyptian themed' food we chose was a tajine. Basically couscous with potato and just 3 little slices of carrot and a sprinkle of store bought spice, was quite awful and very stodgy. The chicken dippers were just chicken nuggets with a bit of glutinous mayo, and stodgy French fries..... Not seeing the North African theme here.
Security was a problem too, at one stage during the performance we had to ask them to stop disturbing the show, as 3 of them were having a conversation at full volume in the aisle near us!!!
I'm still trying to figure why we needed such heavy security at an opera.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank gillv63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shirley T, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi Gillv63,

I am terribly sorry you had a bad experience at Opera on the Beach.

Thank you for your feedback. We have notified our Executive Producer with your comments and will take them into consideration for future performances of Opera on the Beach.

Regards,
Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Went to see Kevin Bridges at the Opera House. The Concert Hall is amazing. We have been there for several comedy shows and had various seats, I've found there are no bad seats at this venue. Keep the comedy coming and I'll keep returning. Beautiful building on the inside and stunning on the outside.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Penelope T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shirley T, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Penelope,

Thank your for your feedback.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Sydney Opera House!
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Around the circluar quay, great place to visit, to see the amazing opera house for real.

It's a must for all that are going to Sydney. The walk around the area of the pores house is wonderful, with bars and restaurants.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank 189kamj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shirley T, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi Kam,

Thank you for your feedback.
I agree- Sydney Opera House is a must-see in Sydney!
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

I had purchased tickets to the Saturday concert a year ago and flew from Melbourne to attend and it was the best performance I have ever seen. Whilst I am not sure what it was like from other seats, row M in the stalls had the most wonderful sound and view of the stage for this performance in the Concert Hall. The performance was sublime and faultless in every respect. The conductor, Pinchas Steinberg, achieved the most incredible sound from the orchestra and every single singer from the drawcard, Jonas Kaufmann, to the chorus was sublime. I must mention just how unbelievably good Kwangchul Youn was, and DeYoung, Honeyman and Fyfe were also standout. I must admit I was shocked that there was not a single weak link in the lineup. Kudos to Terracini for assembling such a stunning performance.
p.s. A concert at the opera house is not complete without eating at Bennelong, please take my advice and go, it makes the experience complete.

Date of experience: August 2017
3  Thank nathanh561
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shirley T, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Hi Nathan H,

Thank you for your glowing review. We are very happy to hear you flew all the way from Melbourne to Sydney to attend the performance!

Regarding your advice with having dinner at Bennelong, I couldn't agree with you more- it is the ultimate evening experience.

Hope to see your in Sydney for another opera performance soon!

Regards,
Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Everything about this was more than amazing. First time in the Opera House. Highly recommend it. Great facilities and very friendly staff. Will definitely return.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank M716KBsusanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Shirley T, Guest Relations Manager at Opera Australia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello,

It is wonderful to hear you had a great first time experience at the Sydney Opera House! Thank-you for your glowing review and do hope to see you back at the Opera in the following years to come!

Regards,
Shirley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews