We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to City and Darling Harbour”
Review of Mantra on Kent

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on Kent
Ranked #66 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Close to City and Darling Harbour”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel is an excellent facility. It is close to everything in Sydney including our companys office, across the road.
The room and facilities were excellent and the staff made the experience enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigSandy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear CraigSandy09,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment comfortable and convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on Kent in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    521
    198
    52
    28
See reviews for
286
361
51
349
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The location is brilliant, the access to Darling harbour, circular quay, the Rocks, shopping and transport cant be surpassed. We have stayed in Sydney quite a few times and found the Mantra, exceptional. The staff were pleasant, helpful and very knowledgeble. The room was great for self sufficient couples who like to cook, eat and enjoy Sydney, the room also had an added bonus, no street noice, no clubs rocking all night long and some peace when you wanted it. Cant recommend this place highly enough, do yourself a favour and book in again soon. Thank you Mantra on Kent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Fred D,

Thank you for your recent glowing review of the hotel.

Its great to see that you would recommend others to stay at the property and that all aspects of your stay were met.

Apartments do give you the frexibility of additional space, cooking and washing facilities and are the perfect choice for extended breaks.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Great central location, easy walk to Darling Harbour, Queen Victoria Building, train station or CBD shopping and dining. Stayed here for a business trip overnight, but the rooms were so spacious and well fitted out that it would be easy to stay here for a week or two. There was a washing machine and clothes dryer in the bathroom, and a small kitchen with stove, oven, small fridge, kettle, microwave - so if you wanted to cook meals in, you'd have all the gear to do so.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Kaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear miss_kaz,

Thank you for your recend review of the property.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment spacious and well equipped to make it feel like home.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed 5 nights in the 2 bed apartment with our 2 and 4 year olds. HUsband on business and we were tagging along. Have been staying in various hotels in Sydney over the last ten years and this is easily the best! Location is first class. Right between Darling Harbour and the QVB and shopping areas. The rooms are freshly painted, very clean and have everything you could need, fridge, oven, washing machine, tumble dryer, DVD. Views are superb. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and they rescued me when I nearly missed my flight. Room service menu looks plain but the food is absolutely delicious and well-priced. Really happy, will recommend and come back.

Room Tip: High floors having AMAZING views of Darling Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Mia B,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of the hotel.

It is very pleasing to see that you had such an enjoyable stay and rank us highly to other hotels you have stayed at.

The location is a plus and the team consistantly receive great feedback which is the best kind of feedback you can recieve in a service industry. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back at Mantra on Kent for your next holiday.

Kind regards,

Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed at Mantra for 5 nights during my business trip and really enjoyed it. I had a fantastic studio room which was clean, fully furnished, and had a lovely view of Darling Harbour. The hotel is central and particularly close to good restaurants located near Darling Harbour. I think customer service was very good - staff were pleasant and helpful, and cleaning crew were great and did my dishes when I forgot them in the sink!

There are few suggestions I'd make to the hotel to improve this experience:
1. Ensure that aircons are working - I tried to change the settings to heat and instead it chilled the entire apartment!
2. Shower power - The force of the shower is quite strong and can be painful (strange but true!)
3. Wifi - A hotel like this really should be able to offer free wifi, especially given their rates.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nidamars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mantraonkent, General Manager at Mantra on Kent, responded to this review, 7 June 2012
Dear Sonali N,

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel.

I am pleased to see your stay and found the hotel clean and comfortable and the team friendly and helpful.

I have passed on the maintenance concerns of the air conditioning and shower pressure to maintenance to investigate. Air conditioning inspections are done regularly and I apologize if this made your apartment less comfortable.

Unfortunately wi-fi charges are still common in Australia but we hope to move to a free wi-fi system in the near future.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Daniel Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#69 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on Kent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Kent

Property: Mantra on Kent
Address: 433 Kent St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#19 Family Hotel in Sydney
#44 Business Hotel in Sydney
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price range (per night): $184 - $425
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra on Kent 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Kent is located in the heart of Sydney's CBD ideally positioned on the doorstep of beautiful Darling Harbour and close to attractions such as the Sydney Aquarium, ICC and Star City Casino. The hotel offers guests a choice of spacious and comfortably appointed Studio, One Bedroom and interconnecting Two Bedroom Apartments each containing a fully equipped kitchen, LCD TV, CD/DVD player, individual controlled air-conditioning & heating, Foxtel and broadband access. Our One Bedroom Deluxe Apartments include full laundry facilities and a microwave. Our balcony rooms overlook the city and our Darling Harbour view rooms have opening windows to let in the fresh air and sunshine. The hotel's in-house restaurant Cascade Restaurant is open daily for breakfast. Alternatively, just a short stroll from the hotel guests will enjoy Cockle Bay and King Street Wharfs, both premium dining precincts offering a multitude of culinary options, function venues, bars and nightclubs. Offering a range of first class services including 24 hour reception and licensed restaurant and bar, we are a contemporary hotel providing guests with a range of facilities designed to ensure maximum comfort during short and extended stays Our hotel is perfect for a romantic break, escape from the everyday, family holiday or business trip to Sydney. Parking is located at Wilson Car Park, next door to hotel, accessible by Mantra on Kent. Cost is $50 per 24 hour period and includes one entry and one exit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra on Kent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Kent Sydney
Mantra On Kent Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing