We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Answer to Mother's pray”
Review of Big Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Big Hostel
Ranked #9 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My Son travelled to Australia for his gap year, he ended his trip in Sydney staying in the Big Hostel. I have to say he loved it from the word go, a really clean, secure and cosy hostel.

Any problems my son had with anything the staff at Big Hostel were there to help.

Personally when I had to contact the hostel to get in touch with my son the staff were SO helpful and friendly. Thank you, thank you Big Hostel, when you are 12,500 miles away from your nineteen year old son and you need him to organise flights etc it is such a comfort to know there are people who will help you take care of things. By the way Guy says thanks too.


From a very grateful Mother

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thorneyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

239 - 243 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2012

I stayed in a few hostels on my trip down the East Coast and was a little concerned about the prospect of booking a hostel for Sydney - where I was anticipating spending more than a few nights. A friend that I had met travelling knew someone who lived in Sydney so asked them for a recommendation and Big Hostel was the only one that they had.

I initially arrived at Big on 27 August and only left today (19 Feb)! I found that the staff were friendly and helpful and I was made to feel at home throughout my stay.

The Room - I stayed in a six bed female dorm and was so happy that I was able to get a good night's sleep - even when I went to bed early (this was often).

The Common areas - the kitchen was great as there was even an oven so I could cook proper food when I felt like it. The kitchen is open plan to the main seating area where there is a big screen TV - for rainy afternoon viewing and evenings where you don't have the money to go out. As well as dining tables there are sofas too so that you can make yourself comfortable and socialise with other guests if you want to.

As a 30 something lone female traveller, I was initially reticent about staying in hostels and honestly thought that I would hate them. I have to say that I really enjoyed my stay at BIG, met some friends for life and just hope that there are other hostels throughout the last 6 weeks of my travels that live up to this one.

Room Tip: I found the six bed female dorm perfect as a solo female traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I have stayed in 3 different hostels in Sydney city centre but this was my favourite. We stayed in a family room which was very spacious and clean, as was the en-suite. The room also had air con which is hard to find in a hostel when you're on a budget. The room had a television and dvd player which was handy. The only bad things about the room was that the beds made so much noise when the person in the top bunk moved, and there was no fridge in the room. Towels were provided and changed every two days.

There is a big communal area with some tables and couches but it gets very busy at dinner time so it's hard to find a place to eat. There is a big television with foxtel and a dvd player. The hostel rents dvd's out to you for a $5 deposit which you get back when you return it. The kitchen is an ok size but it gets very busy and people are bumping into each other. The oven was a disaster. It was a mission to start it and when it finally did start it would turn itself off. Breakfast (cereal, toast, tea/coffee) is free every morning between 7am-10am. There are big communal fridges for people to put there things in and labels to attach to your bag.

There is small room terrace for smokers which is handy instead of having to go out onto the street. Good location with central station 5 minutes walk away and the bars, restaurants and clubs are all within 10 minutes walk

I would advise anyone to stay here if you don't mind paying an extra few dollars per night

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hammer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

i stayed here for a school excursion with kids aged 10-11. not recommended!! the room i stayed in needed a good clean, tv didn't work, and window didn't open which made room stuffy.staff were friendly enough, but this place is way overpriced for what you get. the smell near the lift nearly knocks you out. the so called bbq roof terrace is not that at all and you wouldn't cook on the bbq anyway. yikes!! i would not recommend big hostel for families at all. felt totally ripped off.

Room Tip: there is none
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Rather than staying in an expensive hotel, my wife and I stayed at the Big Hostel on our visit to Sydney in July, 2011. We reserved a private room which was equipped with its own washroom.

Although the bed was uncomfortable and the walls required a good washing, we enjoyed our three nights. We slept well and appreciated being close to the CBD and Chinatown.

The shared kitchen on the main floor was my most appreciated feature. A quick 5 minute walk to the shops in Chinatown offered us all the fresh produce we needed to make our own meals back at Big. For travelers like myself with dietary concerns, having a kitchen at your disposal is priceless. It is also an economical bonus.

The staff at Big were patient and helpful. They were accommodating and never tired of offering assistance to us while we visited.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 143 in Sydney
784 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 143 in Sydney
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 143 in Sydney
299 reviews
Sydney Central YHA
#11 of 143 in Sydney
716 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 143 in Sydney
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Hostel

Address: 212 Elizabeth St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $33 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
boutique hostel in a great location.clean,budget and open age friendlywifi is only FREE in our communal areasplease remember we are a hostel and not a hotel- no turndown services or beds made daily sorry.happy to assist with job hunting, apartment hunting,tours and all information needed for exploring Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC and TripOnline SA so you can book your Big Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing