We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice lunch”
Review of Cafe Del Mar

Cafe Del Mar
Ranked #898 of 6,627 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: USD 18 - USD 52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Café del Mar is a venue that offers Sydney locals and visitors a place to eat, drink and listen. With water views of Cockle Bay, Darling Harbour, and an amazing all-weather rooftop terrace Cafe del Mar Sydney is the perfect place for long lunches, dinners, drinks, Sunday Sessions, functions, events, and so much more. A venue that epitomizes relaxed sophistication and glamour, with interiors designed by renowned Interior Stylist, Sibella Court. With its soothing colour pallet, rich leathers and other luxurious materials, Café del Mar Sydney will make you forget where you are, transporting you to the golden sands of Ibiza where the brand originated. The food and drinks pay homage to the Mediterranean diet with a Spanish DNA, while incorporating, light accents of French, Italian and Modern Australian influences. The music flows from the famous Café del Mar Balearic Chill-out to cool jazz, sexy deep house and nu soul. The Café del Mar team hail from around the world and bring with them a wealth of local and international restaurant experience. The sun always sets in style at Café del Mar.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Amazing view of Darling harbour, good lunch menu deal 25$AU this include, bread, main meal and glass of champagne, defiantly recommend it.

Thank SSwiat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine M, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to send your feedback- we are glad you enjoyed your visit and our "$25 Cheeky Lunch"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

To celebrate a rare break from childcare responsibilities, I joined my girlfriend for a weekend in Sydney. We were looking forward to a fine dining experience overlooking the water. There was nothing to suggest from the website that what we were actually about to encounter was a tacky nightclub with food masquerading as a restauarant. On arrival, I thought we were in the wrong place: there was a security guard at the door (have never encountered that when entering a fine dining restaurant), pink neon signage at the entry, and impossibly loud music emanating from the venue. Restaurant dining is obviously about the food, but also the ambience and the opportunity to talk with the people you are dining with. The decor was tacky (blue faux velvet couches), tired and uninspired. We didn’t bother hanging around. Such a venue was never going to meet our expectations so we left. Maybe If you are an adolescent (or a forty-something Peter Pan) who prefers loud music and a thumping vibe to stimulating conversation, then this might be the place for you.

Thank Monique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine M, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Monique, thank you for your feedback. Cafe del Mar offers a blend of premium casual restaurant dining, terrace bar and entertainment experiences in a vibrant atmosphere. We have DJs from 6pm-midnight Friday and Saturday nights and 4pm-10pm Sundays during Summer. We aim to offer an outstanding experience for all of our guests, it would seem that in this case we were not successful in meeting your specific needs. If you would like to discuss any feedback further with us, please do contact us on enquiries@cafedelmar.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

The ambiance and the music is chilled - as you might expect. The food was excellent although a bit pricey. Really a good experience up above the hustle of the harbour front. But the toilets let it down! Come on folks clean them up!

Thank JohnA_LE16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine M, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Thanks very much for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit and your meal. We have passed your feedback regarding the Bathrooms to our facilities team. We hope to see you at Cafe del Mar again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We decided to head into this spot for a last dinner before I head back to Canada. We were totally blown away by the food - the truffle goat cheese croquettes are definitely a must try. The service was efficient and friendly - we had Antonio and he was amazing. We were never left wanting anything and he ensured every dish was enjoyed by us. Amazing little spot, I would completely reccomend this place to anyone who likes good food and a great view.

Thank Cassandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

Came here to check how they cook after a great experience in another restaurant on the harbour. Tapas was good however the flat head fish was dry and old (it was the last someone said after)
If you have old food just dont serve it, you can kill someone.
Al rest was good.
Will come again?, maybe.

Thank wcatterm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine M, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thanks very much for your feedback! We're glad that you enjoyed your tapas; and can assure you that all the produce we serve is fresh and safe. The reference to the Flathead being 'the last' could have been a reference to a menu change this week; where we seasonally change our menu - with some dishes like the Flathead coming off to make way for new seasonal dishes for Autumn. We hope you visit again and have a great dining experience - if you would be willing to contact us nathan@cafedelmar.com.au we would like to speak to you about a return visit.
thank you,
Cafe del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Del Mar also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Cafe Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing