We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Ultimate Sydney Walking Tour
116

Book in advance
from
AU$70.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Martin Place
from AU$70.00
More Info
from AU$97.00
More Info
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
60
133
106
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
133
106
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas tree george streets high end shops kings cross cenotaph anzac matrix fountain facade cafes sandstone australia stroll
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2019

Martin Place, stretching all the way from George Street, across Elizabeth Street and up to Macquarie Street, is the epicenter of Sydney's CBD.

Here are the four major Australian banks, the Reserve Bank of Australia, and several foreign banks and investment houses.

At the George Street end is the historic General Post Office, a grand Victorian sandstone edifice, now turned into restaurants and up-market shops.

Martin Place is also home to The Cenotaph, a granite and bronze statue memorial to Australian servicemen killed in all the wars since World War One and every Thursday the army has the ceremony of Last Post.

The day I visited there was a red-bearded Scot, in kilt and full regalia, busking with his bagpipes. He was worth a couple of dollars in his hat.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2019

The original square dates back to 1873 and was located between Pitt and George Streets and was named after Sir James Martin , a three time premier.It has always been the heart of Sydney with the iconic GPO building most prominent . It is an interrsting square only because of the architecture.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Oldjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2019

Martin Place is a large wide open plaza that dissects the central business district. It features many of Sydney's up market outlets, relaxing seating and a tasteful 'LEST WE FORGET'' memorial honouring our military, particularly on Anzac day. All the surrounding streets host the busiest hordes of people coming and going, so it is restful to break away from it all, take a seat and listen to bubbling of the large central fountain. Infamous for the Lindt Cafe terrorist seige, there is also a memorial to commemorate those who died. The full length runs from MacQuarie and George Streets and each segment features something of interest. Tons of refreshment and food outlets so It's a great place to just rest up before taking in the sights.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank WilliamB826
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2019

This pedestrian mall is a popular thoroughfare which runs from Wynyard up to the Domain. There are high end shops lining Martin Place. Halfway up there is the fountain which was used in one scene of The Matrix. There is also a memorial to the victims of the Lindt Cafe siege. If you're in the area it's worth a quick walk through. There are often performances and events held here throughout the year.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank bucketlisttravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

I love going to Martin Place at marvel at the builds and look to see what it going to be celebrated next in Sydney.

Martin Place is well connect with the metro underneath it. There are copious amounts of food halls that are a hive of excitement between 7am-3pm Mon-Fri (servicing the business people of sydney).

This time we dropped in to look at the Xmas trees and decorations. I like to come in for ANZAC day service too.

The place is well signed for the next big social events in Sydney.

Martin Place is constantly under renervations.

One warm days and night it is just super cool to sit back and watch the world go buy.

Martin Place Bar is strategically located for those that need a quick alcohol refreshment too.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank LadyLaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews