We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 am - 11:59 pm
Ultimate Sydney Walking Tour
116

Book in advance
from
AU$70.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Martin Place
from AU$70.00
More Info
from AU$97.00
More Info
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
60
133
106
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
133
106
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews christmas tree george streets high end shops kings cross cenotaph anzac matrix fountain facade cafes sandstone australia stroll
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Located in the business district . Dull pedestrian street on which there is nothing interesting. Not worth a special visit .

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Ogi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Unless there is an event like vivid on there is little of interest here. Its a grey soulless walkway filled with couriers, rushing commuters and dazed tourists probably wondering what the attraction is here. The sombre military centotaph is a worthy point of contemplation but there is a dirty fountain and not much else to see.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank ChiefsBTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Martin Place can be accessed from George Street, Wynyard Station, Macquarie Street or Martin Place Railway Station. It is a nice "central" part of Sydney. The GPO is a real "landmark". You can go underneath the cafes and offices which now house the 'once MAIN Post office' of Sydney - and visit Sydney's historic Tank Stream remains - very interesting. The important Cenotaph is at the lower end of Martin Place and going uphill there are lovely historic buildings - many of which are worth going into to see the wonderful architecture, décor and fittings. The Commonwealth Bank building houses a vault which is extremely good to visit. There are often concerts or other exhibitions going on in the centre of the "blocked off" part of Martin Place - but at other times it is just fairly quiet and/or "everyday business" happening.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Martin Place is the home to Sydney’s General Post Office - the heart of Sydney. It’s an iconic and very large square (about 500m long) which pedestrians can meander through. It’s surrounded by historic high-rise buildings with a few garden features and tall trees dotting the square.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2016

In the wintry sun, on one of the benches provided, people met, sat, chatted.
One can have a picnic lunch, a take away coffee, or just watch the passing parade of working folk, tourists, buskers or commuters.

Clock chimes quarter hourly, singers entertain and time passes.

Most pleasant time in the centre of this city.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews