We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Ranked #63 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, step out of the hotel and you are close to everything you wish to visit in central Sydney.
Easy reachable by train (station Museum).
Lots of restaurants close by.
Short walk to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ronald_jenkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ronald_jenkinson,
Thank you for staying with us and for your review.
I'm glad that our location was to your liking and you found our team great. Hopefully we get to welcome you back in the near future!
Warmest Regards,
Ali M
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First appearances were good, but quickly evaporated after entering the room. Sparse furniture, beds that were too soft and old (rolling into middle), and a shower that only dribbled out water. Cheap accommodation at a convenient location. Was fairly quiet also.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank familyman322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear familyman322,

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey.

Feedback from our guests is very important to us as it allows us to continually improve the products and services that we offer at our wonderful hotel.

I am saddened to hear that our room was not to your liking. Rest assured our team will work hard to ensure future experiences are top notch!

We love to always look after our return guests and guarantee best rates so please don’t hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are coming to Sydney. Similarly, if you are travelling to other locations throughout Australia or Paris and would like me to make enquiries with our sister properties on your behalf, I will be more than happy to do so.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Pensione Hotel again soon.

Warm Regards,
Ali M,
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were greeted by their friendly staff Sarah which provided us with all the information we needed on check in. Room was spacious and clean and surprisingly silent (hotel is located on George Street and it was pretty noisy outside with tram construction). Kitchen was cleaned regularly and it had all utensils needed. Perfect location; you can walk pretty much everywhere from there. Only negative was the air-con which was a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deborahi867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear deborahi867,
Thank you for your stay and for your review. I'm glad that our location was to your liking and Sarah is over the moon for the mention! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Warmest Regards,
Ali M,
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The stay got off to a bad start when I got all the way up to my 3rd floor room via the very slow and smelly lift and some stairs, only to find that neither of my room keys worked. All the way back down I went with my bags... The keys were reset for me, but it was strongly implied it was user error. Perhaps it was, but a warning that the key readers can be finicky would have been helpful in the first place.

I couldn't fault the appearance or cleanliness of the room. I expected it to be small based on the description - I considered it 'cosy'. I appreciated the music playing on the TV when I entered the room - it felt more welcoming than the usual silence.

The bed was a little on the soft side for my taste, but that's a very personal thing so tough for a hotel to get right for everyone.

The worst thing for me, and the reason I would not stay here again, was the constant air con and lack of opening windows or ventilation. This meant that the room became extremely stuffy and dry overnight. So much so that I woke at 4.30am both mornings with a sore throat and dry mouth, and dry skin on my hands. Not fun! I've stayed at many hotels over the years, and I can only recall one other location that became that stuffy and dry overnight.

The physical location is fine - halfway between Central and Town Hall stations, and close to plenty of shops and eateries, including World Square.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Margaret C,
Thanks for your review. We are sorry to read that your experience fell short in relation to the air condition. Rest assured our team will work hard to ensure future experiences are top notch! Hope to see you again soon!
Warmest Regards,
Ali M,
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

thanks for your hospitality & friendliness as I really enjoyed my stay in your hotel & trip to Sydney. the hotel was prefect for my 2 night stay & staff were very helpful in guiding me to places to see.
Thanks you Martin

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank J8209QVmartinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PensioneSydney, Manager at Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear J8209QVmartinm,
Thank you so much for your lovely words, it was certainly a pleasure having you stay with us. I'm pleased that your stay was fantastic! We do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.
Warmest Regards,
Ali M,
Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#55 of 180 in Sydney
702 reviews
Chinatown
The Ultimo
The Ultimo
#51 of 180 in Sydney
397 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#85 of 180 in Sydney
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 180 in Sydney
4,437 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#26 of 180 in Sydney
175 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#109 of 180 in Sydney
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels

Address: 631 - 635 George St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $121 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Sydney’s entertainment and theatre district, the Pensione Hotel Sydney is centrally located and like no other. Set behind a beautiful Heritage-listed façade, the Pensione Hotel offers boutique interiors, breathtaking hospitality and incomparable value for money. Featuring all the desired hotel amenities, with warm and inviting staff that have a great knowledge of the local area, the Pensione is perfectly suited as a base to explore Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Hotel Sydney - By 8 Sydney
Sydney Pensione Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing