We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good sized rooms and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mariners Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

we had a 5 day stay 2 adults and a teenage daughter. The room was large and the beds were very comfortable which is very important to me. The location was great very close to public transport. It is very quiet for sleeping no pubs or night clubs that can be heard which was pleasant. The street the hotel was located had large metal bars on every window on every home on the bottom levels, so that made me think it was probaly not the safest place in Sydney but its very secure with good sercurity so we did feel safe that was not an issue, it is only a 3 minute walk to Kings Cross from the hotel. The tv bench was so old and damaged, the tv did not have great reception it was old and worn out. There was no wi fi no dvd player, no movie channels just a basic very old tv like what you would find in a 3 star hotel. the bathroom was in poor condition as well it desperate need of renovation, but it was clean. The reception was friendly and very helpful to us, but only manned monday to friday 8am to 7pm. The breakfast was very basic you need to get in early if you like fruit toast, its more of a toast and cereal breakfast with watermelon cofee and tea. It was like being back in the 80's. I would go back again if it was 3 of us as we struggle to find accomadation that don't charge extra for the 3rd person which is annoying as most hotels have 2 double beds but make you pay for the 3rd $50 extra a night this hotel does not charge extra which I really appreciate as $50 a night really adds up. The price is great for sydney if your a family the room we had had a queen and 2 singles. You get a great night sleep its perfect if you touring and need a safe clean place sleep at night with a great location for your day trips.

Room Tip: we had a quiet room on the first floor. from what I could see all the rooms which are 1st floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tompkins1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 268 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

We booked this online in a hurry for a one night transit, wanting to be near the Art Gallery. The location was perfect for an easy walk to AGNSW, as well as easy access to both Kings Cross and St James train stations for smooth, fast airport access. The buzzy, atmospheric restaurants at Woolloomoolloo wharf, with views of the city lights, are 2 mins walk away. The room was comfortable, functional and reasonably quiet, while the bathroom was in need of updating. Shades of its former life as a retirement home are evident in the bathrooms and public areas. No free in-room Wifi, but free internet was provided in the reception area. We were pleasantly surprised by the breakfast (included in the rate) which, in addition to the staples of a continental spread, provided fresh fruit, hot boiled eggs and a self serve espresso machine.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank outofbody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We found this hotel to be in an excellent location. The reception staff were friendly and accomodating. We were not able to check in till after 8.00pm and had to make prior arrangement in order to gain access to the car park and our room.

The room itself was clean, albeit on the smallish side.

The room was warm when we arrived and had to spend a few minutes looking for the remote for the air con. We later found that the air con was triggered by a button near the table and is operated on a timer basis. There is no option to control the temperature or the fan speed. The 2 hour timing cycle will be an issue for those hot summer nights.

We were on the first floor, so there was some noise early in the morning from the activities in the street. If you are a heavy sleeper, this should not bother you though.

Breakfast was included which was an added bonus.

Secure parking is offerred at $20 a night which we found reasonable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilverProdigy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Mariners Court and thoroughly loved it. It is in a back street and is very quiet. Rooms were comfortable and airy and a number of common rooms were available. It was an easy stroll to the Domain and the Art Gallery of NSW and we had an excellent evening meal at the Frisco Hotel just around the corner. When we checked in we were a little bemused by the wide corridors, wide doorways and "medical" feel of the place. We also noted numerous emergency call buttons liberally distributed around our room. On enquiring we confirmed that the place had been built as a rest home for old seamen and had also been a private hospital. The transformation has stood up well and I would recommend the place to anyone. We'll certainly stay there again. Possibly recommended for people with a hankering to play doctors and nurses.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PadreJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Look,we all know you get what you pay for,this hotel is a budget one,and we were pleased with the room,location is great,breakfast included,parking available,the lady was very pleasant and we had a great evening in town.And a bonus for us....a nonsmoking hotel ..yay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Hotel Challis
#52 of 179 in Sydney
767 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
881 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#38 of 179 in Sydney
4,407 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariners Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Court Hotel

Address: 44 - 50 McElhone St, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $152 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mariners Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb location, 3 and half star (AAA rated) boutique hotel located 200 meters from the foreshore of the Woolloomooloo Wharf Complex. Within walking distance of the Opera House. The city centre is approx 1 km. Includes a complimentary light breakfast and in-house movies. All rooms have en-suites, TV, ph, fridge and tea & coffee making facilities. and feature either a courtyard or balcony. Undercover parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mariners Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Court Sydney
Hotel Mariners Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing