We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing flavours”
Review of Lotus Dumpling Bar

Lotus Dumpling Bar
Ranked #79 of 6,858 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 23
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

We visited the Lotus Dumpling Bar for a quick meal before gong to the nearby theatre. The staff were great with the booking and noted that we needed to be at the theatre (like most of the diners before 7.30pm (1 minute walk). The flavours in the food were amazing, not just the dumplings (fantastic) but also some of the main dishes (crispy green beans with pork mince, barramundi perfectly garnished). A great spot to enjoy great flavours.

Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservations and Events Consultant at Lotus Dumpling Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Good Evening, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us. Lotus Dumpling Bar is the perfect venue for pre-theatre meals, we agree. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards, Cassandra Cormier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We had dinner here before we saw Muriel's Wedding at the theatre, literally a one minute walk away. The restaurant opens for dinner at 5:30pm.
Lovely dumplings, the staff were friendly and the service was fast. Upmarket wine list, small restaurant seating less than 50 inside. Mostly indoor seating and about 3 tables on the footpath outside. A cute restaurant, convenient when visiting the theatre. I recommend making a booking.

Thank ExplorerGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservations and Events Consultant at Lotus Dumpling Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed everything. Our close location to the theatre definitely makes us a favourite of people heading over to see a show. We look forward to welcoming you again before your next show. Kind Regards, Cassandra Cormier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2017

We went here before going to see muriels wedding the musical.
We sat outside on a lovely summers evening.
There is lots of dishes to choose from, the food was hot, delicious & plentiful.
Very reasonable prices.
The staff were very friendly..
Please book as they were having to turn people away.
I would book a table in or out, the bar for eating is rather squishy.
But you may like that..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservations and Events Consultant at Lotus Dumpling Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Good Afternoon, Thank you for leaving this nice review for us. We do get very busy, especially with Muriel's Wedding in town so it certainly is a good suggestion to book in to secure your place. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lotus soon. Kind Regards, Cassandra Cormier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

It needs to be said that this place is super popular. Deservedly. So especially if you’re going to one of the nearby theatres book early and you’ll be grateful. Not just dumplings but everything we ate was excellent. Lovely staff too. Highly recommended

Thank bigvicSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservations and Events Consultant at Lotus Dumpling Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2017

Good Afternoon, Thank you for this wonderful review. We do fill up quickly on theatre nights so a booking is definitely the best way to go. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Cassandra Cormier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

booked ahead and excited to go , group of 5, get there and they have squashed us onto a table for 4. small restaurant..felt squashed and claustrophobic!!!
we chose the banquet, food was good but way overpriced and despite my protestations, they dumped plates of food down even though there was no space.obviously wanted to get us out asap. the waiters leaned over me and my food the whole time. unacceptable esp at these prices. would not go again much better dumplings and better service at lots of other places in Sydney!!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Guest Relations Manager at Lotus Dumpling Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Good Afternoon Linda, Thank you for your review. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We would like to extend our apologies to you, that you did not receive the level of service on which we pride ourselves on at Lotus. We would never want to feel like our guests were rushed through their meal. I will be sure to pass on your comments accordingly. We would love the chance to have you in again. Please feel free to email me directly at blair@lotusdining.com.au if you would wish to do so. Kind Regards, Blair Wood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lotus Dumpling Bar also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lotus Dumpling Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing