We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dumplings and more”
Review of Lotus Dumpling Bar

Lotus Dumpling Bar
Ranked #74 of 6,793 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 23
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 10 February 2017

We really enjoyed our visit to Lotus. A little bit off the beaten track in the theatre area of the Rocks. Service was friendly and efficient, and everything we ate there was delicious, especially the crispy eggplant, which was a very substantial portion. The pot stickers were also juicy and generously filled with meat. They also stock a really tasty cider, which goes surprisingly well with the dumplings! I would definitely return.

Thank cproffitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservation and Events Supervisor at Lotus Dumpling Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Good Evening, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We definitely do get busy with the theatres being so close. The crispy eggplant really is a crowd favourite we are delighted you enjoyed your meal with us. I will have to take your advice and try a cider with my dumplings next time! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards, Amy Gamble

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2017

We were running very late as the show we had been to see ran 27 minutes over time. Two attempts to notify the restaurant failed as our calls went to straight to voicemail.
Thankfully, the kitchen was still open.
The Kingfish sashimi and duck pancakes were delicious. The wine list is reasonable.
On a hot night, a little uncomfortable as there is no air conditioning.
Happy service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservation and Events Supervisor at Lotus Dumpling Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Good Evening, Thank you for taking that time to write this review. I am sorry to hear the air conditioning was not working when you dined with us, I understand how hot these recent Sydney evenings have been. We are happy to hear though, that you enjoyed your meal with us. We hope to welcome you again soon hopefully on a cooler evening. Kind Regards, Amy Gamble

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

I had dinner at the bar here. Sampling a few different dumplings and they were all great. Also tried a stir fry which was very good. This is up there with some of the great dumpling restaurants in Hong Kong and I'll be going back.

Thank axe50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservation and Events Supervisor at Lotus Dumpling Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2017

Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Sitting at the bar is a favourite spot for a lot of our regular customers and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you meal with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to sample some more dishes from our menu. Kind Regards, Amy Gamble

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Loved this place so much the first time we visited that we went back on our return trip. All dishes were great, from lamb to chicken to seafood to vegetables. Eggplant is incredibly well done. Very good wine selection. Enjoyed the casual atmosphere.

Thank VasyaStamford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservations and Events Supervisor at Lotus Dumpling Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Its great to hear that we got to welcome you for a second time.Our eggplant is certainly a crowd favourite, we are delighted you enjoyed your meal. We hope to see you again on your next visit. Kind Regards, Amy Gamble

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Good food and atmosphere. Little hole in the wall. Just walked in at 6pm, but I think it would be busy with the theatre set. Quick service, and a good selection of dumpling. Food quality is excellent and good bar selection too. Worth a visit

Thank Koray71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDiningAustralia, Reservations and Events Supervisor at Lotus Dumpling Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Good Evening, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are delighted we could fit you in without a booking as you are right in saying that it gets very busy down there being so close to the theatre! We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind Regards, Amy Gamble

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lotus Dumpling Bar also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Lotus Dumpling Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing