We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy food and good coffee in this sunny little cafe”
Review of Swell Cafe

Swell Cafe
Ranked #140 of 395 Coffee & Tea in Sydney
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 January 2016 via mobile

Great little cafe with yummy coffee and super healthy food. There is a takeaway area and courtyard at the back and it catches the morning sun perfectly.

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank ZeeTee260
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2016

We visited Swell after going to Avalon beach for a swim. We had the chicken, coconut and kaffir lime roll and a burger. Both were great - especially the chicken, coconut and lime number!!

I specifically ordered coffee to come after the food. Of course (grrrrr - why do cafes do this) it came before the food. I asked for it to be brought out in the order I asked for. this was done with an apology and a smile.

Great food and charming service. And the coffee was very good. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janev_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

As the heading suggests. Ordered smashed avo and poached egg on rye with coriander, and it was perfect.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank GenericHandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We visited Palm Beach today (including walking up to Barrenjoey Lighthouse) and after reading the reviews about expensive food in Palm & Whale Beach we drove back to Avalon which has lots of eateries. Swell was busy, welcoming and had food and prices written so we could easily see (and you can sit inside or outside).

And yes we had food envy, watching generous portions of avocado on bread, avocado in salads, burgers being brought to tables around us. Unfortunately no pies available today but WOW, after chosing something different, my taste buds were totally treated.

I ordered a Kaffir Lime and Coconut Chicken Wrap with Peanuts and Mint which was served with a soft warm wrap and the most delicious filling - chicken breast, peanuts, coconut and mint. It was so yummy and only $10. Amazing fresh flavours for amazing value.

Plus, we were also served chilled tap water which was perfect for the warm day.

Lots of free parking - timed but free - in the streets nearby plus the carpark outside Woolies.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aussie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Havent actually eaten here as always passing at the wrong time however the food always looks beautiful and the presentation is fantastic however they do make great coffee and owners Barry & Nat lovely

Date of visit: June 2015
Thank MichelleESydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Swell Cafe also viewed

 
Avalon Beach, Pittwater
Avalon Beach, Pittwater
 

Been to Swell Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.