We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So many other places better accommodate vegetarians - go elsewhere”
Review of Feast

Feast
Ranked #315 of 6,962 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 59 - USD 99
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Experience award-winning dining in our signature restaurant, Feast. With a constantly evolving and lavish selection of culinary delights, Feast's extensive menu elevates the offering to gourmet which ensures this restaurant remains steadfastly at the top of every Sydney sider's dining list.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I went to Feast for a birthday party. On making the reservation, the birthday girl checked that there would be more than salad and bread available for me, and was assured that there would be plenty of vegetarian options. On arrival - only salad and bread. No hot vegetarian options . For $100+. When we complained, the Assistant Manager offered for the chef to make up a special vegetarian stir fry (which they will not do at the inappropriately named Noodle Bar, in the restaurant), but we had been there an hour at that time and I had moved onto dessert. I did not have to pay for my meal.

I wrote to Sheraton reminding them that providing a hot vegetarian option should be mandatory in all their buffets, given the popularity of vegetarian food. One vege meal in 11 hot meals on the buffet is surely not a big deal to accommodate, you would think. Every hot meal does not HAVE to have meat in it. Keep in mind there is a whole seafood buffet there too. It's not a big ask. Got a cut and paste apology. Not tailored to my very specific and pretty rational request. VERY disappointed in that standard of customer care.

If you are vegetarian, even if it is anti-social, decline any invitations to go there. So many other places better accommodate our preferences.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yasmin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen R, Manager at Feast, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Dear Yasmin D,
Dissapointing to hear you could not find an option to suit your needs when you last visited us here at Feast Restuarant. Whilst we are an International Seafood Buffet we do make every effort to cater for a wide range of dietary preferences, and of course vegetarians. Please be aware we also feature an A La Carte menu which features many vegetarian options and is available if the wide selection on our buffet does not meet your needs. I am glad you were well compensated on the night and it is unfortunate that we could meet your expecattions despite the managers best efforts. I do hope you will return to give the whole Feast Team the opportunity to give you a truly great memorable experience.
Warm Regards,
The Feast Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 136 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

I had to stay overnight in Sydney and the Sheraton was the only place that I could get a room near the Sydney Eye Hospital. he service I received was great as was the Buffet Breakfast the next morning. I would definitely stay there again.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mckeough7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen R, Manager at Feast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear mckeough7,
Fantastic to hear you so enjoyed your dining experience for both dinner and breakfast here at Feast! We hope to welcome you back again when next your are in Sydney!
Warm Regards,
The Feast Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Feast really is amazing, I visit on every trip to Sydney and have done so for at least 15 years. This visit it was spanner crabs, oysters, jonah crab claws, all amazing and eat as much as you want. They have added chili crabs to the menu which were really tasty.
Shrimp were large and perfectly prepared. I did have a plate of their deserts as well which were all awesome and the perfect way to end a truly memorable meal.

Service was very good bringing finger bowls, bowls for shells, etc constantly. Don't change a thing this is a consistently awesome experience. Yes it is a bit pricey, but still an excellent value.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WorldTravelRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen R, Manager at Feast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear WorldTravelRod,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on trip advisor! We are all so pleased to hear you enjoyed our wide variety of seafood and dessert selection. We hope we can welcome you back again soon!
Warm Regards,
The Feast Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

This buffet is great if you eat fish or meat, which three of our party did. However, the range for vegetarians is really limited - no eggs in the salad bar and most of the salads had meat in them. Even the steamed Brussels sprouts had bacon bits in the dish. We were pretty disappointed, especially at $89 a head. Sparkling water was exorbitant. We won’t be back. Harvest at The Star has a better range and is less expensive.

Date of visit: March 2018
2  Thank bigbear2042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen R, Manager at Feast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear bigbear2042,
Disappointing to hear you did not find enough selection on our international seafood buffet. We always make a great effort to ensure we have a wide variety of food to suit all tastes and our selection changes daily. We hope you will return again so we can exceed your expecations on a return visit.
Warm Regards,
The Feast Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

This is the best value seafood buffet in sydney, there is a vast array of seafood, meat, roast, noodle, rice, salad, cheese and dessert options and everything is well cooked and delicious. The food is high quality and fresh, really enjoyed my lunch here!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Annie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owen R, Manager at Feast, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Annie Z,
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at Feast. It is especially great that you so loved out wide selection of food options we have for our guests each and every day. Hope to welcome you back again soon!
Warm Regards,
The Feast Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Feast also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Feast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing