We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Irish pub”
Review of Maloney's Hotel

Maloney's Hotel
Ranked #1,279 of 6,630 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: USD 7 - USD 16
Cuisines: Irish, Australian, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Description: Maloney's has all the warmth, heart and atmosphere as if it was transported from the Emerald Isle. Open 7 days a week, Maloney's has fantastic Bistro Meals, Irish Menu and drink and dining specials. Great destination to head into for a fun filled night with friends or a quite pint or two.
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Excellent and cheap steaks and typical fare. Cheerful and with virtually all meals under $20, it is great for the price.

Thank KandKAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaloneyHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Maloney's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Hi KandKAustralia,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Maloney's Hotel and have passed on your feedback to management. We hope to see you back here soon!

Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Lots of crazy guys, the manager tell me go outside just 5 Min after I take my beer . Because I want to smoke outside . So crazy for me , I don't come back !!!!!!!!!

Thank Florian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaloneyHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Maloney's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Hi Florian,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience at Maloney's and would really appreciate it if you could get in touch via email with the date and time you were so that we can investigate this further. You can reach us at promotions@maloneyhotels.com.au.

We hope to hear from you.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

This was our "Watering Hole" during our 6 day visit to downtown Sydney. They have a range of special deals all day, everyday on drinks & food. We chose the $8 jugs of XXXX Beer, which were a winner with us. We visited each day, at a variety of times & enjoyed a range of atmospheres, from chilled, laid back on a Monday night to vibey & loud on a Friday night. Recommend to anyone looking for a good value beer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TerryPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaloneyHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Maloney's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Hi TerryPaula,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed coming to Maloney's Hotel during your stay, and have passed on your feedback to management. We would love for you to visit us again next time your visiting Sydney!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Myself and my work colleagues come to this pub 5 times a week. We have always enjoyed visiting here. However, recently, it seems there has been a change in management and staff. We were sat in the outdoor garden peacefully and a staff member came out and started shouting at us because he wanted our seats. Fair enough, however, when questioned why, he stormed off and the manager named as Bruce came out screaming at us. He grabbed the seats from under us aggressively and when told we were regulars, said we were never welcome back, which not only came as a shock to us, but unsettled the majority of patrons who were quietly sipping on their after work beverages. As said, we have always enjoyed coming here until we were shouted at and talked to in this way. For such a staple pub in Sydney this is a real shame. Soon after, we were instructed to finish our drinks as quickly as possible which we were more than happy to do, but during that time, we were consistently (4 times) harassed by the bar staff to "hurry up". A fantastic bar that has gone south unfortunately, will not be back

Thank dave r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaloneyHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Maloney's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Hi Dave,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience with management as we do pride ourselves on being respectful and fair to all patrons. We would appreciate it if you could please email us at promotions@maloneyhotels.com.au with your contact details so that we can continue this conversation further.

We look forward to hearing from you, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

After a day of travelling, my mother, brother and I were ravenous and in need of a hearty meal. We decided an early dinner at Maloney's Hotel was the answer.

On approaching the bar, we were greeted by Mariko, who was friendly, polite and went out of her way to provide excellent customer service.

From the time of ordering to when our meals were served was just on fifteen minutes. This was very impressive as the bistro was becoming quite busy. We each enjoyed our respective steaks or risotto. This was proven by the lack of communication at our table as we were extremely focused on consuming our meals.

Definitely give it a try.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank quinni_224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaloneyHotelGroup, Public Relations Manager at Maloney's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Hi Quinni_224,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Maloney's Hotel and have forwarded your feedback on to management and Mariko. We would love for you to visit us again soon!

Thank you! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maloney's Hotel also viewed

Bondi, Greater Sydney
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Maloney's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing