We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$195
Priceline
AU$222
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
AU$180
Breakfast included
Multiple ways to pay
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
harmonica_player
Gdansk, Poland
comfortable stay, but living out of the suitcase
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Dec 2023
Overall, I was happy with my stay. Breakfast was included. It featured scrambled eggs, fried bacon, and beans, toast, serial, fruits, yogurt, fruit juice, instant coffee, and tea. Italian coffees could be ordered with surcharge.
Staying more than two weeks, the wardrobe was a bit of a downside, as it did not have much boards for storage. The room had a fridge, water kettle with instant coffee/tea, and a desk.
Staff was very friendly.
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
1.9 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Views
2.4 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Free Wifi
Pool
1.9 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
2.4 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Free Wifi
Pool
Aster Rooftop Bar
2.5 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Pool
Restaurant
1.3 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
1.8 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Restaurant
Room service
1.6 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Free Wifi
Pool
1.2 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (720)
Filter reviews
720 results
Traveller rating
276
300
75
39
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
276
300
75
39
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darling harbour boutique hotel central station powerhouse museum room was clean and comfortable min walk single room the ground floor mini bar public transport inner city would stay again early check uts wattle chinatown ultimo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 720 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2023

What a great boutique hotel, air-conditioned upon arrival, clean, beds comfortable and pillows. Quiet despite main road. Staff lovely and included was a basic breakfast, which was good to kick start you. Will definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Renee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2023

We stay at the Vulcan every December. Plus a few other nights throughout the year. We love the location, just far enough out of the city but close enough to walk everywhere. The place is always tidy and the staff are friendly.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank markham25727
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

The bathroom had a not so pleasant smell to it we had to keep the door closed to avoid the smell.
I woke up with sore neck my husband
a sore neck and back the Vulcan really needs to invest in better quality pillows and mattresses. We both tossed and turned all night.
In saying all that..

The service from the staff was exceptional, the hotel looked clean and tidy walking through it, breakfast in the working was also lovely and fresh.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amanda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

The location of the hotel is great for Central station, UTS and Sydney Uni. The room was very small and basic but clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was better than I'd expected.

Room tip: Request a room away from the street if noise bothers you
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is situated in a very easily accessible location, which makes travel to and from the CBD very easy. The room itself is quite small, however it has all the necessities, with the added bonus of daily housekeeping. Outside noise was never an issue, and staff were very polite. Couldn't ask for much else for the price.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hayden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews