We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
AU$225
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Renee E

Will definitely stay there again.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Dec 2023
What a great boutique hotel, air-conditioned upon arrival, clean, beds comfortable and pillows. Quiet despite main road. Staff lovely and included was a basic breakfast, which was good to kick start you. Will definitely stay there again.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$260
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$245
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$239
  • Official Site
    AU$269
1.9 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
AU$210
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$210
  • Vio.com
    AU$210
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
1.0 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$180
  • Priceline
    AU$164
  • Hotel Website
    AU$180
1.9 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$131
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$156
  • Agoda.com
    AU$109
  • Vio.com
    AU$150
1.3 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Booking.com
AU$283
  • Vio.com
    AU$299
  • Agoda.com
    AU$249
  • Expedia.com
    AU$299
1.8 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Restaurant
Room service
Lobby
Booking.com
AU$149
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$139
  • Agoda.com
    AU$110
  • Vio.com
    AU$148
1.0 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Priceline
AU$152
Go to your Happy Price
  • Algotels
    AU$195
  • Agoda.com
    AU$118
  • Expedia.com
    AU$167
1.2 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Pool
Fitness centre
Aster Rooftop Bar
InterContinental
AU$335
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    AU$335
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$302
  • Priceline
    AU$335
2.5 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$396
No prepayment needed
  • FourSeasons.com
    AU$396
  • Vio.com
    AU$387
  • Priceline
    AU$396
2.4 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$300
  • travelup.com
    AU$302
  • Vio.com
    AU$281
  • Shangri-La.com
    AU$300
2.4 km from Vulcan Hotel Sydney
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Sydney
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
278
301
76
39
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
278
301
76
39
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews darling harbour boutique hotel central station powerhouse museum room was clean and comfortable min walk single room the ground floor mini bar public transport inner city would stay again early check uts wattle chinatown ultimo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2023

We stay at the Vulcan every December. Plus a few other nights throughout the year. We love the location, just far enough out of the city but close enough to walk everywhere. The place is always tidy and the staff are friendly.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank markham25727
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

The bathroom had a not so pleasant smell to it we had to keep the door closed to avoid the smell.
I woke up with sore neck my husband
a sore neck and back the Vulcan really needs to invest in better quality pillows and mattresses. We both tossed and turned all night.
In saying all that..

The service from the staff was exceptional, the hotel looked clean and tidy walking through it, breakfast in the working was also lovely and fresh.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Amanda Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

The location of the hotel is great for Central station, UTS and Sydney Uni. The room was very small and basic but clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful and the buffet breakfast was better than I'd expected.

Room tip: Request a room away from the street if noise bothers you
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. The hotel is situated in a very easily accessible location, which makes travel to and from the CBD very easy. The room itself is quite small, however it has all the necessities, with the added bonus of daily housekeeping. Outside noise was never an issue, and staff were very polite. Couldn't ask for much else for the price.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Hayden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2023

I contacted hotel in regards to parking and they directed me to UTS parking complex (they validate and its 25$ night, you're welcome!) Its then a 200m walk to hotel which is located on a one way street corner. I was traveling with my brother so we got a twin room, which upon check-in was incredibly small and not really like the pics listed on booking.com and for 252$ for the night we were a little disappointed. The room was a little dated, the beds were comfortable, the air-con had a constant tick, it was clean. The bathroom was very small, my brother is a big boy and found it a very tight squeeze in the shower. Being on the first floor and so close to the street it was incredibly quiet. Breakfast was included in our room price but i still dont think that makes up for the price of the room. Breakfast started from 8am so we could not have that early getaway like we would have liked (we had a long ass drive home) It is a buffet of scrambled egg, bacon, baked beans, instant coffee/tea, cereals, breads, lamington bites (these were yummy). I was a little disappointed a barista coffee was not included in the breakfast, which we did purchase separately and was yummy. When i travel breakfast is something i try to either get with hotel or find a local cafe, it just sets the mood for the whole travel experience. Broadway shopping complex was 350m walk away which is 4 levels of stores including a food court even though we used Menulong! I had never been to this area of Sydney before. Glad I went? Yes. Would i come back again? Perhaps if we got a bigger room. I cannot fault the staff and the friendly service we received.

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 14MELJ86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews