We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 fabulous days in sydney” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maisonette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Maisonette
Ranked #7 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“2 fabulous days in sydney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

great value for money is this oasis the maisonette. great location close to fabulous cafes and yet just off the main drag so quite quiet. check in efficient and friendly we chose the best room and paid a little extra, but very reasonably priced. comfortable and has everything you need. great view out on to the street, comfy bed with lots of pillows to rest against when having a break from all that sydney has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    209
    78
    18
    17
See reviews for
64
119
115
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My solo stay at this hotel was very good! The Single Room, though the size of my laundry at home, was all I needed. Clean, and comfortable, no view as such but I was only there to sleep. I was unable to secure a room with ensuite but the shower room was right next door and well presented and clean. The closeness to good restaurants, woolies supermarket and taxi/ bus/ train a bonus. Would certainly stay there again either solo or with husband.

Room Tip: as several stairs up to the rooms best to get a lower floor room if not moderate level of fitness
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

The location of the Maisonette Hotel is great--a quick 5-10 minute walk to Kings Cross Station with a residential neighborhood on one side and the restaurants and shops of Macleay Street on the other.

The room that we stayed in was a Twin Ensuite. When we checked in, we were given room #17 on the first floor with the caveat that two days later we may have to move to another room so that the original room could be worked on. I asked why we were being put into room #17 if it needed work, the person at the reception desk said that there was a minor problem. I asked if the problem was so minor why we would have to change rooms, surely the work could wait until we checked out on Saturday. The response given was that the work might not have to be done, but either way they would let us know by Monday night.

When we got upstairs to the room, it was clean and tidy, but not quite what I was expecting for the price. The room had 2 twin beds with a small table and 2 chairs in between them. The TV was positioned over one of the beds. There was a small counter with a sink, a small fridge, and a microwave as well as a wardrobe with an iron, extra pillows and blankets. The bathroom had a toilet, a sink, and a shower that was more of a small dip in the floor with a drain sectioned off from the rest of the room by a curtain. As I said, the room was clean, and it had all of the basic necessities, but it was uncomfortable partly because of the musty smell, like maybe the carpet needed to be cleaned or something hadn't dried out completely. My other issue was that the room was right at the top of the staircase, so that we could hear each person coming and going from the hotel. The hotel was quiet during the week, but over the weekend, I felt as though we heard the slam of the front door followed by shoes smacking up the steps and conversations in the hallway for most of the night. The walls were thin enough that I could hear the couple next door, shall we say, enjoying each other's company quite clearly.

After 2 days stay, we were given a note that we would have to switch rooms the next day. The receptionist did give a choice between #25 and #35, which I appreciated, and said that since we would be out all day, they would move the bags from the room for us. I selected room #25 and was assured that the keys would be waiting for us when we returned to the hotel at the end of the day. The room switch went off without a hitch, but the new room was in exactly the same spot at the head of the stairs, so the noise of people going up and down stairs was still present. The new room was also clean and tidy, but the fan in the bathroom wasn't working properly, so taking a shower turned the bathroom into a rainforest. The hotel offered us free wifi and a late check-out for the inconvenience, which was a nice gesture.

I think that the hotel's location was really convenient to getting into the city as well as to some nice restaurants and shops, and the staff made an effort to be polite and helpful, but the hotel could use some refurbishing to make it worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kates010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Enjoyed the location, walk to Art Gallery, using trains. Room was exceptionally small and had to leave door propped open at night to sleep. Was like a sauna. May be better in the cooler months.
Noise from restaurant next door was terrible.
Not even a hook to hang a towel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from noise from next door restaurant and their airconditioning units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Wanted somewhere close to the centre for the first stop on our Australia trip. We don't like to pay more than necessary for accomodation so this worked out really well for us. We also love to walk so the chance to walk the streets of Potts Point and over to the Botanical Gardens, Opera House - even as far as Darling Harbour worked for us. There are hills so it is good exercise. We were on the 4th floor which was also good exercise without a lift. On the side of the hotel so very quiet and even had a view of the CBD.
We had one fright when we missed the shuttle to the Airport for our ongoing flight which apparently sped by while we were hauling our luggage downstairs. A better solution than having the shuttle pick up on a narrow street is to walk about 25metres around the corner where there is a regular stop for the shuttle.

Room Tip: If you don't mind carrying luggage upstairs, take the top floor - room 37 worked really well for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DandSAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Hotel Challis
#6 of 64 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Maisonette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maisonette

Property: The Maisonette
Address: 31 Challis Ave | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price range (per night): $101 - $184
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maisonette 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small well established affordable Boutique Hotel located in one of Sydney's premier locations known as Potts Point. Located only a short walk to the harbour foreshore, our hotel is an excellent choice for anyone wanting to experience the best that Sydney has to offer. Recently refurbished, our rooms have been styled to maximise space and comfort. Experience the chic village lifestyle that makes Potts Point one of Sydney's most envious urban precincts. The neighbourhood offers visitors a vast choice of quality cafes, restaurants, wine bars, as well as a range of eclectic boutiques, antiques and design stores. On our doorstep is also a supermarket, delicatessen, laundromat, whole food store, bakery as well as excellent transport options. Being small we pride ourselves in being able to offer a more personal approach. Our front desk team will go out of their way to ensure that your stay in Sydney is an enjoyable experience. We encourage guests to contact us direct so we can provide the best advise for your stay in Sydney. We are waiting to welcome you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Maisonette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing