We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (627)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveller rating
33
158
231
115
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
158
231
115
90
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
406 - 411 of 627 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I opted to stay at this property for location only as I needed to be near friends in Camperdown.

The building was originally built as a Travelodge and I like the Tri Arc design. It takes you back to the 70's and it immediately reminded me structurally of the original Travelodge in Darwin which has been lovingly maintained and modernised. Sadly this is not the case with Rydges. First impressions on entering the lobby were not encouraging. There is nothing "stylish" or "welcoming" about it. On approaching reception I was served by a girl who was most obviously on auto pilot, sounding parrot like. Thankfully the gentleman on checkout was more pleasant.

My room was on level 3 and was cheaply put together and lack lustre. On closer inspection you noted how they are in dire need of a major renovation. There were black marks on the ceiling, the wardrobe door would not close properly, the drapes did not meet completely when drawn and the bathroom still has the shower over the bath thing going on. In this day and age one really just needs a good shower if they are space deprived. The room was also noisy. The heavy doors automatically slam shut if you do not hold them. Late at night you would hear these slam. The windows are not insulated and given the hotels location on Paramatta Road, the traffic noise is quite invasive.

The hotel just felt sad really, the curved corridors were dark and depressing and I did not even bother with the restaurant it looked bland and empty.

It is overdue for the owners to invest money into this property and this should include double glazing of the windows, but one wonders if they are happy leaving it as is due to its proximity to the hospital and university and they would have business regardless, I for one will not return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melbourneguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Camperdown.

Your feedback regarding your check in experience has been passed onto our Front Office Manager for him to address with the team.

Your comments regarding the feel of the hotel have also been noted and will be used for the continuous improvement of our service levels and to enhance our overall product. Once again, thank you taking the time to write your candid review, as it is very important for us to hear our guests’ comments and have the opportunity to rectify and improve on any deficiencies.

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Room 301 (Cost was $152 per night):
1. Outdated décor
2. Wet/musty smell on arrival
3. Walls were covered in condensation - yuck
4. Stained carpet
5. Leaking air conditioner
6. Cracks in roof
7. Holes in bedside tables
8. Electrical leads were all tangled and exposed
9. It is very abnormal to find a shower curtain in a hotel - very unhygienic
10. Paint all over the counter in the bathroom
11. Smashed tiles behind taps
12. Rusted shower curtain rail
13. Mouldy silicone around the bath tub
14. Paint was peeling off of the door/walls everywhere

Cleaning:
1. On our first day our service room tag was put out at 9am as we left the room. We came back at 12 and the room had not yet been serviced, however a new bed runner and pillow had been placed in our room. The room was finally serviced at 3:45pm.
2. Throughout our entire stay, the bed runner was never actually put back on the bed, just squashed into the bedside table.
3. The bathroom basin was not wiped at all throughout our stay.
4. On our fifth day our used conditioner was replaced with shampoo only.
5. The ‘minibar’ consisted of candy COATED in dust and drinks that looked like they had been in the fridge for months.
6. Teaspoons were used daily and left on the bench for cleaners, it was 4 days into our stay before I realised they weren’t being replaced, just put back in the drawer dirty.
7. Cleaners did not seem to speak English very well, however all in all they were very polite and helpful.

Pool:
1. For the first 2 days of our stay (SAT-SUN) staff did not bother to bring the chairs out to the pool side.
2. The entry to the pool via level 1 is impractical and confusing.
3. The outdoor stairs used to access the pool were filthy – covered in mould and littered with cigarette butts.
4. The internal door refused our card return access on one occasion and we had to climb an extra flight of filthy stairs to find a door that was unlocked.
5. Mould everywhere!
6. Broken tiles everywhere!
7. Rust and rotten boards everywhere!
8. I discovered a shattered glass in the pool area one day and reported it via the pool phone just before 1pm. The man on the end of the line said that he would have it cleaned. Sitting in our room at 4pm I watched as a staff member finally came and swept it up with a brush and shovel. Leaving broken glass by the pool for three hours is totally unacceptable. Further to this, the next day I returned to the pool and as you might have guessed, it was not cleaned properly, and there were still shards all over the entry step to the pool.

Restaurant:
1. Notice in the lift said that the restaurant was open M-F 6:30am – 10:30pm, S-S 6:30am – 10:30am and 5:30pm – 10:00pm however as it turns out the restaurant is only open M-F 6:30am – 9:30pm and S-S 6:30am – 10:30am, meaning no dinner on weekends unless you wanted to order from the room service menu of approximately 5 items.
2. The first time we entered the restaurant we waited over five minutes to be greeted (no it was not busy – infact the restaurant was empty), and when we asked what the pasta special was for the day the waiter had no idea and had to go find the chef.
3. On our second visit a different waiter greeted us – again after a longer than 5 minute wait and showed us to our table, he then said ‘I don’t know where the menus are’ and left our table. We sat waiting for ten minutes with the menus in plain view before I got up and got them myself – he had clearly forgotten about us.
4. The one meal we ate at the restaurant was adequate – nothing to brag about, but nothing to complain about.
5. Breakfast is priced ridiculously at $25 for continental only.

Bar:
1. Service was appalling, we waited at the bar for service on one occasion for more than ten minutes before another couple sitting there told us that ‘they wander off and you probably need to chase them’. I went to reception and asked for service at the bar to be told that there should be someone there, to which I replied ‘there is not’. The gentleman on reception promptly picked up his phone to call someone and I returned to the bar, where I sat and listened to the bar phone ring out unanswered. Five minutes later and a staff member came to serve us. After ordering one drink he had us sign for the purchase and left the bar again. We promptly left the bar after that drink as there was clearly going to be no further service.

After reading mixed reviews I took a gamble on this place and now wish I hadn’t. Do not waste your time or money, stay somewhere cleaner and nicer for a few extra dollars.

Room Tip: 301 was filthy
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smb892009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to put down all of your feedback.

Please accept our apologies for the concerns you have expressed in regards to your stay at the hotel. Although we are an older property, we pride ourselves on exceptional cleanliness and efficient & professional customer service and it appears in this instance we have dropped the ball. Your review had been shown to all managers for their attention and follow up, with particular attention paid to room 301.

Thank you again for your detailed and honest feedback. We appreciate all feedback, good and bad, provided to us by our guests, and use this information to develop our staff and continuously work towards providing improved service standards and product.

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My family flew to Sydney for a function and booked 3 rooms for the Saturday night. The first arrivals were given room 503. It was completely unacceptable. Poorly maintained, mouldy and dirty. After complaining they were moved to a still tired and very average room. The other two rooms were ordinary at best and certainly not worth the $200-250 charged. It was very different to my experiences at other Rydges establishments.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Greg, please accept my apologies for your disappointing stay, and the inconvenience of your family having to move rooms.

Your comments have been shared with the entire team as it is very important for us to hear your comments and have the opportunity to rectify any deficiencies.

We really do appreciate all feedback provided, both good and bad so thank you for taking the time out to write your review about your recent stay with us.

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight with a friend when we went to see a show at the enmore theatre. Paid $220 for our stay with parking for a very average room that needed a proper clean and a broken fridge (with the last guest's leftovers still inside). Then had to deal with swipe cards that didn't work when we came back from our evening out. Not impressed:(

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Winky24273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us at Camperdown.

Please accept my apologises for the inconvenience caused by your swipe keys. Your other comments have also been passed onto our Executive Housekeeping Manager for follow up.

These are by far not the usually high standards that Rydges properties are known for.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

As most of the other reviews state, this place has all you need but very out of date. Rooms are big enough but bathrooms are small. Good breakfast but prepay it to save $7 each. Good location away from the city so not much noise but was good for us as we were seeing a show at enmore theatre and only a 5 min drive if that.. Friendly staff :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChaninaBanina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clair W, Guest Relations at Rydges Camperdown, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for sharing your comments regarding your stay at Rydges Camperdown. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and found the staff to be friendly as this is something we pride ourselves on.

Your feedback has been passed onto all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are seeing a show at The Enmore, or in town for other fun reasons.

Thanks again

Kind Regards
Janefa Hassan
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews