We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Parrot Backpackers
Ranked #8 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Rhodes, Greece
1 review
“AMAZING hostel!”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

I recently stayed at the Blue Parrot and really had a fantastic time! Friendly atmosphere easy to meet people, the hostel was in a great location and really clean. The price was the same as any other good hostel in Sydney and it was great value for money especially since they had free internet which other hostels charge for. I highly recommended it!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    52
    20
    7
    5
See reviews for
2
12
175
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2011

I had the most fantastic time at Blue Parrot. Was there for 10 days and wish that I could have stayed longer. Met awesome people and had the time of my life! It's a small and intimate place and perfect if you are travelling solo!
Staff are friendly and helpful.
Best stay in Australia so far - will definitely recommend it!
I'll be back for sure!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Really nice place and great location. I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it, except for two douchey Swiss room mates. The receptionists are friendly and the rates for 4 bed rooms are very reasonable. It is a short walk from the Blue Parrots to the Royal Botanical Garden and only a 1/2 mile from Central Station. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAmazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I seriously love this place....I've travelled many places and stayed in a lot of accommo but 'Blue Parrot Backpackers' is the best&most comfortable place for me ! the staffs are very friendly and kind....! If I visit Sydney again, I'll definitely stay here again :) lovely place!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimin.Ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I booked to stay for 1 week initially and ended up living there on and off for 8 months! What makes the Blue Parrot so special is the people and the atmosphere. It's a small, homely hostel with chilled, comfortable living spaces so you get to know people really quickly which is so important when you're travelling alone. The location is superb- there's a different awesome night out every day of the week in vibrant Kings Cross and the hostel managers make sure everyone feels welcome, gets involved and has a great time. It's not a totally crazy, party hostel so you can def get some sleep before early morning trips or work. It is a hostel though, so sure sometimes drunk people come in late or snore but if you're a single traveller arriving in Sydney you won't find a better place to get connected and get immersed in the Sydney lifestyle. Plus the internet is free which is a massive bonus. I loved it, had an amazing Aussie experience and would absolutely stay there again.

Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank HMoorePortD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#43 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Parrot Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers

Property: Blue Parrot Backpackers
Address: 87 Macleay St | Potts Point, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price range (per night): $31 - $80
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Parrot Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Parrot Backpackers is located in the most cosmopolitan part of inner Sydney City (akin to Soho in London and East Village in NYC) and is only minutes walk from the heart of the city, offering vibrant nightlife, clubbing, trendy cafes, bars, restaurants and all the tourist attractions. A friendly hostel run by sisters Effie and Sasha, known for its social atmosphere and warm welcoming staff where you can easily meet other travellers, especially if you're travelling solo. Guests can relax in the large outdoor courtyard or the indoor lounge area, the perfect places to socialise. Blue Parrot is 5 minutes walk from Kings Cross train station. The City Centre, Royal Botanic Gardens, the Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge are less than 20 minutes walk away. To make your travels easier reception can organise exciting day trips to the Blue Mountains, Surfing lessons, Skydiving, Whale watching, Wine tasting and more .... AGE RESTRICTION: Adults only 18-35 years old in dormitory rooms. ___________________________________________________________ PROPERTY FACILITIES: FREE Wi-Fi ! Available in all areas and is free of charge. Close to Train Station - Courtyard - BBQ - Tour desk - Luggage storage - Lounge/TV - DVD - In-house movies - Playstation - Wii - Photocopying/Scan - Computers - Kitchen - Laundry - Non-smoking rooms - Designated smoking area - Airport Shuttle bus (surcharge) Popular with solo travellers! Best price guaranteed! No booking fees! No deposit! Additional Information about Blue Parrot Backpackers Price Range: $39 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Bed) Number of rooms: 8 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Blue Parrot Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Parrot Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing