We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,053)
Filter reviews
10,053 results
Traveller rating
5,261
3,437
955
258
142
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5,261
3,437
955
258
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviews circular quay great location wynyard station corner room excellent hotel comfortable bed opera house room service business trip george street great room buffet breakfast would stay again an upgrade mini bar central location rocks
Filter
Updating list...
2,565 - 2,570 of 10,053 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2017

My wife occasionally stays at the Amora and recommended I did when I visited for work. Very well located, exceptionally clean and spacious. The room service and restaurant were great in terms of variety and price.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 848regc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek S, Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear 848regc,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is in a prime location in Sydney CBD and within walking distance to the major Sydney attractions, We are pleased to learn that this enhanced your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

The location is excellent, with easy access to The Rocks, Circular Quay and Darling Harbour.
Nice check-in Soleil very friendly and welcoming and wished my husband "Happy 50th" as I had made a note the trip to Sydney was part of his milestone birthday few days away.
Room
The room was pleasant enough, although a little on the small size. The bed was way too soft for us, but we realise that is an individual preference. If we'd have been staying longer we would have taken advantage of the pillow menu and enquired about a firmer mattress. The fridge was TINY, we had to remove the items in there to put our own small purchases in.
The hotel had kindly arranged for a surprise celebration cake slice (no message written on it or card) to be in the room but as we'd been out and it hadn't been put in the fridge (no space) we chose not to eat it as we didn't know how long it had been sitting on the side. It also looked like cheesecake which I would be wary of keeping out of a fridge. We'd been told we'd been upgraded to a view over the park.
The bathroom was nice, my preference is always for a separate tub and shower so this ticked the boxes. It was not 100% on cleanliness, maybe a retouch of the grout around the bath area could make it look more appealing. The view was very nice with water glimpses. I would say that the bathroom view was nicer than the room view.
Club Lounge
Nice selection of drinks in lounge with board games, reading material and snacks. Service was attentive but no going the 'extra mile' as we have experienced in other 5 star lounges. No friendly chat and interest in the customers but pleasant enough service. I didn't have too high expectations and although at other hotels we have found that the canapes can replace an evening meal there wasn't any worries of that here. We had pre-booked a meal elsewhere so this was fine but again making us wonder about the 5 star class.
The hot food wasn't replaced in the hour and a half we were in the lounge in the evening and this was similar at breakfast time - as food ran out the space in the bain marie stayed empty (no mushrooms for me!) Cheese could have looked a bit fresher and there was quite a limited choice. Maybe if we could have had the option to pay a little extra to take breakfast in the main restaurant there may have been more choice.
Look, pleasant enough hotel and no complaints, for what you pay compared to other 5 star hotels maybe it was to be expected. I think what was lacking was a personal touch to make the guest feel that their custom was appreciated. Maybe we have been spoilt before?
I would recommend it to others but maybe state that it was 'comfortable' but no 'Wow! factor'. Probably not for a special occasion.

Room tip: Higher up floors should be a better view and quieter
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank McrtoMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek S, Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear McrtoMel

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Our stay was just one nicht but it was a very good hotel on a perfect location for us. Luxerieus room with a good bed. We arrived early in the morning en they let us in the room so that we not have to wait until 2 a clock.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 865gerritw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek S, Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear 865gerritw,

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback and we are extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're delighted that the team made your experience memorable for you during your stay. Our intention is to make all our guests feel at home and we're thrilled that you were well looked after.
On behalf of our entire team here at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, we thank you for your support and I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

This hotel was the perfect place for us to stay to be able to check the Sydney CBD prior to our cruise in April. We are bringing the family over and wanted to get the lay of the land so to speak!
It would be the perfect location for us to stay with the family, however as there is going to be 11 of us for a period of 5 nights it would have been way to expensive!!
However for the two of us it was perfect.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 259helenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

This hotel is very centrally located; we could walk to Circular Quay, The Rocks, the Botanical Garden, and Darling Harbour very easily. Very comfortable, with a beautiful view of downtown lights and the harbor from our 27th-floor corner room!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhishek S, Manager at Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

Dear Susan D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. It was wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotel is in a prime location in Sydney CBD and within walking distance to the major Sydney attractions, We are pleased to learn that this enhanced your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Abhishek Sinha
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews