We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad; very modern and new”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2012

One night stay in the city, close to Circular Quay, very neat room, good tv though abit small with various channels, beautiful bathroom

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snoopy13132008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8,697)
There are newer reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,962 - 7,966 of 8,697 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

The only reason we stayed was because it said 5 star and it had a super low price so just had to check it out. I wasn't very impressed, none of the concierge greeted us to ask if we needed help with our bags. The room was very average and had the strangest tv spot. It is in a unit beside the bed and up high and pulls out. The TV was also small. That's all, nothing good enough to make me want to stay at this "5 star" again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lovestotrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Like many previous reviewers, we stayed at this hotel through a 'last minute' booking firm, being told it would be a 5 star hotel in the heart of the CBD. Doing a quick trip to Sydney, it seemed like a good option. The entrance, lobby and reception areas are certainly very nice, but the room we had was lucky to be in the 4 star bracket. It didn't help that we overlooked an office block, but hey, we weren't paying full rates so you get what you're given. But my biggest gripe is that they obviously decided to recoup the reduced rates by charging ridiculous amounts for all of the add-on. The mini bar prices were an absolute rip off ($5 for still water!) But the worst example of overcharging was breakfast @ $37 pp for a very average, bland buffet, oh and espresso coffee was extra. If you're not paying full rates I suppose this place if OK. Other than that? I would try elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DJT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

beautiful room, great spacious bathroom
great breakfast, friendly staff
a good home from home atmosphere

(one thing an experienced waiter should not berate a new member of staff in front of customers, if at all, for not knowing what an affogato was he should teach her what it is and how to make one.)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasseyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We booked this through a 5 Star Mystery Deal, and the location was perfect for us as we had dinner reservations at The Rocks, so we were within a 10 minute walk.
The service on arrival was wonderful and fast. Our room was nice, on Level 5, carpet was a bit worn and stained, and the shower could do with a very good scrub. Other than that though the room was very clean and comfortable. The television was quite small, and located in a cupboard to the side of the bed. It did not pull all the way out so we could not see if we were laying in bed, which was annoying.
Room service menu was VERY expensive, which is expected, but to also have a $6.00 charge to deliver it to the room was a bit much, so we opted out of this for breakfast.
The pool and spa were lovely, and we enjoyed a late night cocktail in the bar. Service here was wonderful.
We did had a very enjoyable stay, and while we did book on the mystery deal we were expecting a little bit more for a 5 Star Hotel. Not sure if we would stay here and pay the full rate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
5,931 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,885 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Address: 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $223 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Sydney's well kept secrets, Amora Hotel Jamison is quite simply the place to be. Whether you are staying in one of our Deluxe Rooms or Suites, attending a Conference or Gala Dinner, unwinding at Amora Day Spa, or indulging in our Afternoon Tea in GALLERY Lounge Bar, you will experience genuine traditional personalised service. Superbly located above Wynyard Station between George and York Street, within walking distance to all major iconic attractions, Amora Hotel Jamison is renowned for spacious and elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing