We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Original Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #23 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed here in April 2011 with two friends at the start of a four month trip, and I would recommend this hostel - it has a really good location in Kings Cross, close to nightlife, and only twenty or so minutes walk from The Botanic Gardens and Sydney Opera House.

We paid 28 dollars a night for a room in an all females dorm, which was a nice enough room with lockers (bring your own padlock!). HOWEVER we were put in a room with loads of girls who seemed to be living in the hostel, so even if we came in at 12 - not even drunk! - we'd get shouted at for being to noisy.... so I'd recommend going for mixed dorms if you want to enjoy Sydney's nightlife because they seemed as nice inside as the all female dorms but you're actually allowed to have fun... this could have just been my experience but as a general thing throughout our trip we found this to be the case!

Bruce at reception is always happy to help out with things to do in Sydney, and the hostel puts on events at clubs and restaurants to get you cheap food, drinks and free entry. Also the hostel has a big kitchen with free basic essentials, although it shuts at 10 so don't do what we did and be forced to eat cereal on your first night in Sydney...

All round good hostel, bit expensive but that seems fitting with all of Sydney. Have fun!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofiams91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

My boyfriend and I are staying here at the moment, and we literally fled from their neighbours Chili Blue (don't go there!). What a relief! The best thing about this hostel is the staff, who are very friendly for a change (I experienced otherwise in Australia). The rooms are alright, and you their silence policy really works. The tv room is cosy and the building is pretty.

The only things that could be improved: more bathrooms, faster internet (it's not high-speed at all, but very very slow) and a bit more ventilation in the rooms. But overall, I'm happy we're staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutch_delight013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Although there aren't very many toilets, staff clean them twice a day. Event every night with free drinks! Huge rooms. Quiet at night. Courtyard with outdoor heating. Friendly staff. Great location! Would go back in a second!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelOz4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I've stayed in many hostels being a keen backpacker, However this was most likely the worst experience i've ever had in one.
Which is extremely unfortunate being from Australia.
The staff i found very helpful but the rooms weren't clean or well kept at all.
I requested a female room for my friend and i but was "upgraded" to a co-ed room with less people.
On the second night the male sleeping on the bunk under mine brought home a lady friend and they emotionally scarred me for life.
the staff were helpful in moving the very next morning, But did not seem all that bothered, or good at enforcing the hostel rules.
The second room was an improvement. slightly less noisy but still not clean.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamboash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed here and were welcomed by a very nice man called Bruce. We had a nice double en suite room which was very clean and tidy. The kitchen could have been a bit bigger but it was overall a very nice place. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will-p77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Summer House Backpackers
#16 of 143 in Sydney
118 reviews
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#7 of 143 in Sydney
298 reviews
Zing Backpackers
#41 of 143 in Sydney
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eva's Backpackers
#21 of 143 in Sydney
237 reviews
Kings Cross
Hump Backpackers
Hump Backpackers
#43 of 143 in Sydney
123 reviews
Jolly Swagman Backpackers
#34 of 143 in Sydney
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Original Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Original Backpackers Hostel

Address: 160-162 Victoria St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 143 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $19 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Original Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Original Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Original Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing