We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and wellorganized backpacker in Kingscross” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eva's Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eva's Backpackers
Ranked #14 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and wellorganized backpacker in Kingscross”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Enjoyed my week in this bp in a small and quiet street in Kingscross. Kitchen is well equipped and cleaned daily. Bathrooms are a heaven for bp standards. Room had even AC, was quiet and nice. Although a few cockcroaches were sighted durig that week. One even fell into my neighbours ear one night.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    84
    38
    14
    8
See reviews for
9
83
59
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

This hostel is in a perfect location, Kings Cross has alot going on with great bars, cafes, restaurants and more. Only a 15/20 min walk to all the attractions aswell.

The room was a goodsize with our bin emptied daily, which I havent seen much of since travelling, and were also clean and comfortable.The bathrooms were immaculate and there were loads so you never had to wait for one.

The reception staff were very helpful, the only downside of this hostel was the internet, although it was free it never actually worked which was disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The welcoming wasn't very cordial. The kitchen and dining room were nice with a fireplace.The twin room we stayed in was a bit cold as there isn't any central heating. Room was basic and small but okay. Bathrooms were very clean and heated, which was nice. All in all it was a good place to stay but not very special.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterBelgium17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

A very friendly hostel with friendly and helpful staff. I loved the cosy kitchen. Great location in Sydney too :)
Really nice big bathrooms (obviously recently renovated), clean though a bit old-style room.
I would definitely stay there again if I were to go back to Sydney again !
Oh and I heard they have a nice rooftop area, but I was so busy in Sydney I did not get a chance to sneak a peak there !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgt_pasternak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed in a tiny double room with a window looking at a wall within 2 meters. At 80 dollar we thought this was expensive. The kitchen is very wel equipped except for the amount of stoves and room in the fridge. The bathrooms are spotless but there are too few. There is a very very smalle tv room. The internet is free but very slow.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BartMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#8 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Surry Hills
Bounce Sydney
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#7 of 136 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 136 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Central Business District
Base Backpackers
Base Backpackers
#20 of 136 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva's Backpackers

Property: Eva's Backpackers
Address: 6 - 8 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price range (per night): $27 - $110
Hotel Class:2 star — Eva's Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Eva's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva`s Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing