We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel with a nice kitchen and bathroom facilities”
Review of Eva's Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eva's Backpackers
Ranked #18 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice hostel with a nice kitchen and bathroom facilities”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed in a tiny double room with a window looking at a wall within 2 meters. At 80 dollar we thought this was expensive. The kitchen is very wel equipped except for the amount of stoves and room in the fridge. The bathrooms are spotless but there are too few. There is a very very smalle tv room. The internet is free but very slow.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartMarleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    86
    39
    15
    9
See reviews for
9
85
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Cons:
- Rude checkin staff. My (Aussie) boyfriend was asked for his passport, and told it was a "legal requirement" that they have his passport number on file. When we said there was no way for us to get it we were told to "read emails more carefully" and the lady insisted that it was clearly at the bottom of our checkin email that this information was required. She even said she would pull it up and show me that I was wrong. When I checked the email that afternoon, the email clearly said that "passport/photo ID" was required from each guest. There was no mention anywhere of insisting on having a passport number from each guest, which makes no sense anyway as some Aussie guests may not have a passport! The lady grudgingly accepted his driver's license as ID and checked us in, but this was a very sour and unwelcoming start to our stay.

- The provided sheets were twin sized despite us having a double mattress in the room.

- The free internet was very patchy and on one day did not work at all.

- The kitchen is quite small and could be very crowded if you are trying to cook.

- Half the power outlets in our room were fried or had something broken off in them and could not be used.

Pros:
- Definitely the cheapest double room I found in the area.

- Comfortable mattresses and nice fleece blankets to help us stay warm.

- Shared bathrooms were the nicest and cleanest I've seen at a hostel.

- Older and generally quieter, friendly crowd of travelers - did see some families with kids too which could be a pro or a con depending on how you feel about kids. Rooftop area is really cool and closes at 10pm so it doesn't stay too noisy in the rooms.

- Good location, close to transportation and lots of sights but on a quiet side street so not too busy or crazy right outside.

Would have given this hostel a five star review if the sheets, internet, and awful check in experience were different. Overall I guess I would recommend this place if you are on a really tight budget but honestly next time I'm just going to save up my pennies and stay at a proper hotel.

Room Tip: Check the hostel website and/or email the managers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starlene45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Its obviously quite expensive to stay as a backpacker in Sydney. Eva's though has prices that decline depending on how long you stay, so thats one positive thing. I paid 28 AUD per night for a weeks stay. Another good thing is that the dorms are quite small (4-6 beds) and all have bathroom ensuite. WIFI is free and fast, but when I stayed here it was down due to hacking. It should be good now though.

Staff is really friendly, bathrooms and rooms are very clean. You have your own locker and reading light by the bed. The hostel is located close to Kings Cross trainstation, but on a smaller alley so very quiet at night.

I liked that this is a friendly and clean place, the common areas are a bit small though (at least the tv-room). They also have a roof top area with laundry facilities for a small amount.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pettran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

the Eva's is located in the area of kingcross, it's easy to get the harbor or the city center by 15 mins walk.
the staff is friendly, the room and the shared bathroom is clean, the public kitchen provides Coffee and tea. and it's near to 2 big supermarket whick are open till midnight.
a good place for the backpackers.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zyuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

After staying in an awfull hostel down the street (G'day Backpackers), I moved to Eva's and thought I was in 'Backpacker Heaven'. I stayed in the Girls Only dorm and had a huge locker in the room, a clean and spacious shower in the dorm, a reading light and a shelf at my bed and a comfortable matras. All of this for the same price as the bad hostel. The roof terrace is breath taking and the WIFI is free. Eva's is cosy, clean and a home away from home. Exactly what a hostel should be.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiekeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Blue Parrot Backpackers
#9 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Bounce Sydney
#3 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#8 of 139 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
The Rocks
Sydney Harbour YHA
Sydney Harbour YHA
#2 of 139 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eva's Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eva's Backpackers

Property: Eva's Backpackers
Address: 6 - 8 Orwell St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 139 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price range (per night): $28 - $109
Hotel Class:2 star — Eva's Backpackers 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Eva's Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eva`s Backpackers Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing