We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST HOSTEL EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elephant Backpacker
Ranked #91 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“WORST HOSTEL EVER”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

this backpackers isn't too bad in terms of location and size of the rooms (we had a double room), but it is absolutely terrible in terms of service and cleanliness. And yet we're very used to backpacking!
- our booking with hostelworld hadn't been checked, they forgot to book our room
- the bathrooms hadn't been cleaned for the 3 nights we were here, which means paper toilet on the floor, blood on the floor, hair everywhere, no soap, + broken lamps and broken locks (but the needles bins were fine???)
- you need to pay a cash deposit for the plates, which are not even clean
- at dinner time, there's garbage everywhere on the floor, leftovers everywhere, food spilled in the microwave

BASICALLY DO NOT TOUCH ANYTHING AND EAT OUT!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petittambour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    121
    60
    33
    139
See reviews for
4
80
140
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The hostel is really good if you are looking for somewhere social. Its in a fantastic location (ten minutes walk from sydney opera house and central sydney) and has really good views out of the dormitory windows. It has most things you need from a hostel, and has the added bonus of being attached to cafe/bar. The rooms are all really big and spacious, there are plenty of bathroom facilities.

Downsides- The toilets aren't cleaned enough or properly, but this situation is probably worsened by drunk people throwing up everywhere on a regular basis. The kitchen situation really needs sorting out. You have to pay a ten dollar deposit for cutlery and crockery, so this results in many people using pans to eat out of, which in turn results in there never being any pans being left to cook with. Take a leaf from other hostels books and just buy more cutlery and crockery! There are also a lack of sinks! and fridge space.

Despite this, the hostel is still good value for money and I would still consider staying there again.

Chris and Amy

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Checked in for 5 nights, eneded up staying for close on 3 weeks. Stayed in the 3-4 bedroom mixed share and meet some very cool travellers. Really good value at $26.00 at night. Highly recommend the cafe's food as had breakfast and dinner there almost daily. Good dinner specials as well for $7-$10 sometimes including a drink. $3 beers if you are a guest. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially when I continued extending at the last minute. Thanks especially to Amanda and Chery. Cheers.
Location of the Hostel is really convenient as it is close to the botannical gardens, art museum, city, opera house and Kings Cross and all the night life. Highly recommend this place and will definitely come back when I am in Sydney next!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Checked into this hostel on our first night in Sydney..and ended up staying for a few months! A really friendly hostel, nights out organised every night so its easy to meet people. Cafe on site for cheap meal deals, beer and wine :) I found the staff really friendly and the owners really accomodating and helpful. Will miss everyone that I've met here and hope anyone who stays here has as good a time as we did!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My friend had stayed at this hostel last year and recommend it to me and I had an excellent time. This is a bigger hostel, but there's still a big community feeling. There's 24 hour staff who I always found very helpful, fun stuff planned every night at the hostel, or stuff the staff can reccommend out in town. The beds were comfy, I slept well and the bathrooms were perfectly fine. The location is great - 5 min walk to everything central, and there's even a great café on the ground floor! I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room 311 it has a small balcony and great views and is quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Maze Backpackers
#28 of 142 in Sydney
690 reviews
The Village Surry Hills
#87 of 142 in Sydney
139 reviews
Surry Hills
Big Hostel
Big Hostel
#9 of 142 in Sydney
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jackaroo Hostel
#26 of 142 in Sydney
286 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 142 in Sydney
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elephant Backpacker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant Backpacker

Property: Elephant Backpacker
Address: 50 Sir John Young Cres | Woollomoloo, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 142 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price range (per night): $19 - $80
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elephant Backpacker 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elephant Backpacker Sydney is located close to city centre in gentrified suburb of Woolloomooloo. Set over 4 levels, the top 3 floors accommodate a variety of dormitories and private rooms with each level having communal ladies and men’s shower blocks and separate toilets. All accommodation rooms are provided with bed linen, lockers and reading lights. The ground floor houses a communal kitchen and dining area, tv room, our reception and licensed café & bar. The building offers secure card access. Woolloomooloo, the gentrified city fringe suburb of the hostel is just 5 minutes’ walk from Hyde Park and 10 minutes from shopping at Pitt Street Mall. It is 10 minutes’ bus ride from Sydney Opera House or 15 minutes’ bus ride from Bondi Beach. Enjoy taking the underground travelator across from our hostel to Hyde Park! Our hostel does not permit alcohol to be consumed in the rooms or common areas. Alcohol is available for purchase in our licensed café & bar. We are not a party hostel but suitable for travelers, families and groups. We also welcome disable guests and have a large lift that can accommodate wheel chairs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Elephant Backpacker reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elephant Backpacker Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing