We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (792)
Filter reviews
792 results
Traveller rating
214
366
146
44
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
366
146
44
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cinema room laundry rooms cafe attached great location bunk beds communal areas pool and sauna free wifi to central train station private bathroom top floor great facilities first floor family room your luggage stayed here for nights circular quay
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 792 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

If the promised sauna wasn’t out of order and the room wasn’t grubby...i would have rated higher. I walked into a room that was full of bags of stuff...recently purchased stuff...it was worrying as i thought maybe it was a swag bag of abundance or something!!!! Turns out, it was one girl with a tonne of stuff...spread out everywhere. Swapping a room seemed futile and i was leaving in the morning. The view from the rooftop was super duper though...sunset tastic...oh...and a mini pool to go with the view...nice

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank lucky_scotcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Public Relations Manager at Sydney Central YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi there - our apologies on the sauna, and we are onto it. With shared rooms - living communally does need a degree of cooperation between all guests. Our staff are always there to help with issues like this and would have tried to move you so if that happens again, just ask!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The location is one of the USP for this hostel. The main hub, central station is opposite to this hostel

Pros:
1)Location
2)Public transport
3)Dining
4)Facilities in hostel like tours, kitchen, movie night etc

Cons:
1)No free wifi in the rooms

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sudhanva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Great hostel for any aged backpacker. I promoted the place for the weekend and it was nothing but a great stay. The staff was super helpful and they were very accommodating. There were so many rooms and the pool and sauna were a great feature!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank grabtheearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Stayed fri 9/3/18- mon 12/3/18. Check in was smooth and staff member (male) was very friendly and welcoming. Two au$ to hire two towels. Hostel has lifts. I was in a four bed dorm (room 606) very spacious. Had a small balcony very convenient as was extremely warm and with the doors open it was very refreshing and airy in the room. Big size lockers in room -please note to bring a padlock for the locker. No wifi in room 606. Female bathroom on floor 6 -both the toilets and showers were clean. Kitchen/ dining area on floor 1 was clean and spaciou and theme was great.
I would definitely stay here again due to the very central location. However downside no free hostel wifi in rooms!!

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 1sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Clean, safe accommodation near everything Sydney! I stayed in both private and dorm rooms in my week there. Considering the sheer volume it’s runs very efficiently. Daily activities run by the up best staff which includes three time weekly roof top burgers or sausages with beers! Pool, sauna, cinema, tour desk and luggage storage. Did I forget to mention both an attached bar and cafe? Large kitchen and restaurant like seating for do it yourself meals. My first YHA experience and you can bet I use them throughout my Australian travels to other cities. Hard to beat this.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Sinaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Backpacker, Front Office Manager at Sydney Central YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Sinead - thrilled you enjoyed the hostel and had a good start to your visit to Australia. There are 80 other YHAs to choose from so just check them out on our website where you'll always find the best price. Have fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews