We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistant Good accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alishan International Guest House
Ranked #19 of 58 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I have stayed at Alishan numerous times over the last ten years & always found the staff helpful, the rooms & facilities basic but clean and great value for money.The location is good for access to the CBD by public transport, taxi or foot.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TipH847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2012

The room was dingy. Hallway stank of "heavily spiced" food at 7pm & it was not the best first impression. The smell hung around for 24hrs.

The manager was not professional. Hotel reciepts when staying, are a good idea & should be provided to all guests.

This review dropped further when he knocked on the room door at 10:02am, to ask if I was checking out @ 10am. Rude.To be honest it was great to exit.

The worst place I've ever stayed & I would not reccomend absolutely anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 427traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night, we had a night out in Glebe and Alishan was conveniently located close to where we were going out that night.
The rooms were basic but clean. As was our private bathroom. We were very happy with what we got for the price, we also parked our car in the rear yard. We think this place is clean and great value for money.
Note- our room didn't have window which we thought was odd. We didn't care as we were only there for 1 night. However, the communal facilities such as the kitchen, lounge area appeared modern and well equipped. I would still consider staying here for a longer amount of time.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Words fail me. Rude manager. Room stank of stale urine. Quite possibly the worst place I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Beardo2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin018, Owner at Alishan International Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

I find it very hard to believe that this person even stayed at Alishan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The room and kitchen were very clean and tidy. It had a great location, with a great selection of restaurants, cafes, bars and convience stores all right outside the guest house. There was also a shopping mall about two minutes walk away. It had a bus stop to the city right across the road, which came very frequently. The manager was very helpful when we had queries. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#108 of 181 in Sydney
1,991 reviews
Meriton Suites Zetland
#12 of 181 in Sydney
3,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Macleay Lodge Sydney
#18 of 58 in Sydney
247 reviews
Inner West
Posh Hotel
Posh Hotel
#11 of 58 in Sydney
491 reviews
Inner West
Wake Up! Sydney
Wake Up! Sydney
#4 of 145 in Sydney
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alishan International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alishan International Guest House

Address: 100 Glebe Point Rd | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $99 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alishan International Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alishan International Guest House offers hotel accommodation in a renovated 110 year old Victorian Mansion. The Guesthouse has a friendly, charming and relaxed atmosphere, and is perfect for the discerning traveller who wants something more than just a place to sleep. We are located in the historic inner-city suburb of Glebe, close to sidewalk cafes, coffee shops, pubs, art galleries, book shops, library, cinemas and Saturday markets.The centre of Sydney is only a 10 minute bus ride away or a leisurely 25 minute walk via Sydney's fish markets and the Darling Harbour complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia APAC, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Alishan International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alishan International Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing