We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice place to stay and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alishan International Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alishan International Guest House
Ranked #33 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Nice place to stay and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The room and kitchen were very clean and tidy. It had a great location, with a great selection of restaurants, cafes, bars and convience stores all right outside the guest house. There was also a shopping mall about two minutes walk away. It had a bus stop to the city right across the road, which came very frequently. The manager was very helpful when we had queries. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    28
    10
    13
    19
See reviews for
20
27
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

This was a great motel in a great location, great service and cleanliness. Walking distance to central station, Darling Harbour, Sydney Fish Market, The Star city and many more places. Plenty to do in the area with shopping and great restaurants on your doorstep and.....the proximity of these restaurants, which meant getting around was so much easier. Hotel manager showed us great customer service and he is always helpful and cheerful. It was a most enjoyable stay. Especially when I forgot my wedding ring on the side table of the bed and I realised this after 2 days of check out. I noticed about this missing piece in my life but was too late. My wife immediately called at reception and we got surprised to know that my masterpiece is in safe custody with the manager. Since we were walk in guests so reception did not have any of our contact details. We have never come across such honesty. Ultimately, staying at this hotel made our short visit to Sydney memorable.

Room Tip: Room on the south side is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susane857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Hmm- stayed here to go see the Harry Potter exhibition at the Powerhouse and the location was great for us- walking distance!
However, $165 for 3 of us in a dingy room with bunks AND NO WINDOWS!! I didn't think that was allowed? Furnished in a mish mash of old pieces.Shabby, and very depressing bathroom with broken shower door, partly replaced by a very torn shower curtain. NOTHING like the family room in the picture.
An extra $30 let us park overnight and until 12 the next day.
Very clean communal kitchen (which we didn't use) as room was a bit too depressing to hang around in.
Saw no other guests or rooms.
I think that if a room has no windows it should be specified.
Would not recommend for families- maybe young travellers looking to socialise would enjoy.

Room Tip: Check if it has windows :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BendigoRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Unsafe,unfriendly,Is not sound proof at all,uncomfortable and uncoorperative.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamal r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin018, Owner at Alishan International Guest House, responded to this review, 10 March 2012
Seems its impossible to please everyone. We try to do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I'm 19 years old and was travelling with my mother. We were very well received by the staff which is very friendly and available to help and inform you. The premises were clean (including the kitchen). Nice size room and a nice backyard with alot of sitting space. Very easy to get virtually anywhere from there with the 431 and 433 that pass right in front of the house. about 15 min away from downtown and 25 min away from circular quay. Darling Harbour is very close by and the central train station as well. You have alot of restaurants and shops near by so you can buy grocery or go out to eat and though the neighborhood is quite alive, the house is quiet :) The quiet times which are from 10:30 pm, are respected. I highly recommend this place and will come back for sure!

Arielle

Room Tip: I would recommend a room which is not on the front of the house since the buses are very loud and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Lodge Sydney
#23 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Posh Hotel
#15 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Surry Hills
Central Private Hotel
Central Private Hotel
#48 of 64 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Maisonette
#7 of 64 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Frisco Hotel
#37 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
City West
Dunkirk Hotel
Dunkirk Hotel
#31 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alishan International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alishan International Guest House

Property: Alishan International Guest House
Address: 100 Glebe Point Rd | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price range (per night): $43 - $161
Hotel Class:3 star — Alishan International Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alishan International Guest House offers hotel accommodation in a renovated 110 year old Victorian Mansion. The Guesthouse has a friendly, charming and relaxed atmosphere, and is perfect for the discerning traveller who wants something more than just a place to sleep. We are located in the historic inner-city suburb of Glebe, close to sidewalk cafes, coffee shops, pubs, art galleries, book shops, library, cinemas and Saturday markets.The centre of Sydney is only a 10 minute bus ride away or a leisurely 25 minute walk via Sydney's fish markets and the Darling Harbour complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Alishan International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alishan International Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing