We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Friendly service, great location, very homely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alishan International Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alishan International Guest House
Ranked #33 of 64 Sydney B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Friendly service, great location, very homely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

A group of 8 of us stayed here on a sports trip for two nights. We weren't the most organised bunch of people and the lovely female manager was very patient with us!
Two of us stayed together in a couple room upsatirs. They said their room was nice and both slept really well.
I was one of the remaining 6 who took a cheaper option and shared bunks with the others. The room was nicely furnished and easily accommodated the 6 of us in a comfortable manner. The communal kitchen was extremely well equipped, although we did not use it as there are so many great places to eat in the vicinity.
All in all it is a great place and I will be using it every time I am in Sydney!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    28
    10
    13
    19
See reviews for
20
27
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We are a family of 2 adults and 3 children. We have just finished a very enjoyable 3 week stay at the Alishan. The Guest House has spacious, clean, cosily warm and nicely furnished rooms. We had one of the family rooms and there was plenty of room for the 5 of us and the rooms were nice an quiet. The kitchen is clean and the 2 gas cooktops made cooking easy. We enjoyed using the common dining and lounge area, great place to meet the other guests. The location is fantastic, close to so many very good cafes and restaurants, Broadway shopping center is 5 minutes walk away and buses to the city stop close to the front of the hostel. A great place to stay for a family visiting Sydney!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tessy001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

I stayed in this Guest House for about two months while working in Sydney and I only moved out because it was fully booked (which I was told about the day I moved in). I guess, that is already telling enough!
I believe that the Alishan Guest House is ideal for single travellers who are looking for a place where they can feel at home and still socialise with other people. What is more, there is lots of space and it looks really pretty, which I am convinced has a beneficial effect not only on the eyes but on the whole person and actually made me happy every time I walked through the little white iron gate and the looked-after garden.
The dormitory is spacious and bright. There is even a sofa and a small desk and enough space to store your stuff. There is a balcony on which you can relax and watch the people on the street without them noticing that you are up there. Bathrooms are shared but it always worked out fine with me.
Kitchen is shared as well: squeaky-clean, spacious and a great opportunity to meet up with other people in the evening or cook quietly at lunch time.
There is a back yard and the living/eating room with tables and TV where you can hang out and relax.
The location is great as well: centrally located but not in the middle of the urban frenzy:
- 23-minute-walk to Central Station (or 5-minute-bus ride)
- bars, shops, cafes close by
- bus stops are 10 meters across the road
- Victoria Park (with a heated-outdoor pool) 5 min down the road
- another Park 15 min up the road
- Library with free Wi-Fi 5 min up the road
Every morning I got up, the manager and the assistant manager greeted me with a big smile and when we cracked some jokes together or had a philosophical discussion about what's important in life, it really made my day.
Shiban and Luis, I will miss you!!

Room Tip: In my view, the best room is the female dorm: spacious, clean, bright and close to the balcony which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlenchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

i came to stay for a few days and ended up staying for three months!

I met so many good friends here and had a great time. We would often cook dinner together and hang out. The place is close to the city and easy to get to and from by public transport. I would recommend it to people who want a quiet friendly place to stay that is not expensive.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gentleman0fleisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

I have travelled the world for business and for pleasure; stayed in cheap backpackers and 5–star luxury. Never, ever have I experienced what I experienced at this hostel.

The hostel has some good things to recommend itself, namely the proximity to Darling Harbour and the City, the outward appearance of this Victorian mansion and a decent communal kitchen. But that’s where the good things end I’m afraid.

Firstly, and most importantly, is the extremely rude and aggressive manager. It astounds me that anyone ever hired him to run a hospitality establishment. Far from a pleasant “good evening” when I arrived, I was confronted with abruptness, rudeness, scepticism, mistrust, insults and finally aggression … all because I dared to hold the manager to the booking and price that had been agreed (I have never seen a booking that was so completely wrong!). Thankfully it was all clearly laid out in emails that had been sent back and forth proving my position.

When asked if he treated all his guests as he was treating me, he responded with “Yeah, so what?!”. I was forced to ask multiple times for the key to the room for which I had paid, while he showed significant aggression in refusing to hand it to me. After receiving several unjustified personal insults I was finally left to go to my room in tears. Completely unacceptable!

I note that the owner has responded to other bad reviews on this site with defensive comments that blame the guests! They can’t ALL be rude, aggressive or have misrepresented their experience. He does this instead of addressing their concerns and apologising for their experiences. This too is an unacceptable way to run a hostel. In truth it is holding me back from saying more about the shocking behaviour of the manager.

Even if the staff had been halfway to normal, I would still not recommend this hostel:
- Rooms are noisy as sound carries between rooms and from the hallway easily.
- A lot of rooms have skylights – great idea for those who like to wake up at the crack of dawn. If not a room with a skylight, you can pick a room that opens to the main busy street complete with noisy trucks and buses.
- The showers shoot water every way but down and it isn’t very warm.
- Some rooms are very, very tiny.
- The electrics are dodgy in the old part of the hostel; loose wires in lights and overloaded powerpoints.
- The rooms are very cold with only a tiny oil heater provided to warm up the room – okay in the tiny rooms but not the big rooms.
- Thin towels and thin sheets.
- Pathetically small TV.

And if you choose to stay here despite all of these reasons not to, consider that it is very bad value. Down the road you can have a twin ensuite room, with fridge, big flat screen TV and coffee/tea facilities, all for $10 less than a shared room in this hostel. And as a special bonus you get pleasant helpful staff that don’t seem to resent guests interrupting their TV viewing.

You have been warned!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hambly11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Lodge Sydney
#23 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Posh Hotel
#15 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Surry Hills
Central Private Hotel
Central Private Hotel
#48 of 64 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Maisonette
#7 of 64 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Frisco Hotel
#37 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
City West
Dunkirk Hotel
Dunkirk Hotel
#31 of 64 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alishan International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alishan International Guest House

Property: Alishan International Guest House
Address: 100 Glebe Point Rd | Glebe, Sydney, New South Wales 2037, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Glebe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price range (per night): $43 - $161
Hotel Class:3 star — Alishan International Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alishan International Guest House offers hotel accommodation in a renovated 110 year old Victorian Mansion. The Guesthouse has a friendly, charming and relaxed atmosphere, and is perfect for the discerning traveller who wants something more than just a place to sleep. We are located in the historic inner-city suburb of Glebe, close to sidewalk cafes, coffee shops, pubs, art galleries, book shops, library, cinemas and Saturday markets.The centre of Sydney is only a 10 minute bus ride away or a leisurely 25 minute walk via Sydney's fish markets and the Darling Harbour complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Alishan International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alishan International Guest House Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing