We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Fort Denison Island
from USD 344.97
More Info
from USD 100.95
More Info
from USD 153.11
More Info
from USD 223.69
More Info
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
110
81
30
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
110
81
30
3
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews martello tower sydney harbour circular quay cannon ferry australia
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Here is my original review rejected by Tripadvisor for some reason: "As part of a Captain Cook Hop-on-Hop-Off, we visited Fort Denison. Did not take long to get through the museum; therefore, had lunch. Overall, excellent experience with the walk thorough, history, and lunch. Recommend doing this as part of the "hop-on-hop-off". Apparently I need to expand on something. As noted, we did this as part of the Captain Cook Hop-On Hop Off. I recommend paying attention to the time schedule of the boats or like us you will be enjoying adult beverages/food because you missed your boat. As noted in the original posting, you will want to do this as part of some hop-on hop-off. We watched a video about the Fort that is a continuous loop, after walking around this small island (Fort), thus missing the next boat off the island. It was an interesting visit and did not cost us anything extra beyond an unplanned snack. We were on vacation, they had wine and it was reasonably priced. All was good. There was a guided tour that cost extra and we did not take part in it based on other reviews that it was not worth it.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank QuietmanTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

So a $20 return ticket from CC cruises gets me a 5 minute ferry ride each way from circular quay and "entry" to Fort Denison. What they don't tell you is the "entry" fee covers 2 pathetic rooms of some paltry displays, but it costs extra to actually check out the proper part of the fort?!
Don't waste your time, literally took us 3 minutes to check out what our money paid for, and we are currently sitting here for the next ferry 15 minutes after arriving to get out of here......

Pathetic.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank Timha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Fort Denison is public property and of historical importance to NSW School Students;
however, the NSW State Government charges for me- a pensioner - my three school age grandchildren and their mother to visit Fort Denison this July school holidays, cost $157.00: This was for a 6 minute Ferry ride to & from Circular Quay to the Island with a guided 30 minute tour. This is disgraceful and prohibitive for students to view a important part of their history. The Guide provided interesting facts but the Martello Tower is very narrow toward the top and several people can't continue to the top. A nice place to visit.

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank Faye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We took a Captain Cook Cruise to Fort Denison. Cruise price includes access to the National Park although to do a guided tour with a staff member costs extra and also allows access to the tower (which we didn't do). There is a restaurant there which we didn't try, and I must say the marquee they have for the restaurant kind of spoils the ability to take good photos of the island. There are rooms with boards containing information about the history of the island.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2016

This little piece of Australian history is marvellously located in Sydney Harbour. It is a great place to visit. The tours are very good - if you don't know about why this "fort" is in the harbour - the guides will inform you well - and interestingly. It is quite easy to get ferry transport to the Island and it is well worth planning (and booking) a meal at the restaurant there. The food is extremely good and it is a great place to eat - the views, of course, are fantastic. Situated as it is in the middle of the harbour, It is mostly quite windy - so be prepared for that. The restaurant has the "plastic" around it - but, unfortunately it is needed - if you don't want your food to blow away.

Date of experience: August 2015
1  Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews